No Fear by Cassiel Knight

Within the last couple of months, I started working for a digital press as a content editor. Not an acquiring editor – yet. I say yet because I will have that option but that is something I’ll have to decide later.

Anyway, it’s been interesting being on the other side of the fence. Since 1997, I’ve been a wet-behind-the-ears newbie staggering around trying to find my way, to an intermediate unpublished author but submitting and being rejected (and that was a loooonnnngg period) to where I am now. Published with two books coming out this year and a new motto – No Fear. Okay, so I didn’t come up with it but it fits my current mindset.

What does that mean? For the first time since I started writing and through all the years since, I finally feel I have power. That I don’t need to hang my career on getting an agent to get a New York contract. That I have options. And boy, do I think we have options nowadays.

It’s been rather liberating, you know?

It feels like what my mother used to tell me. The minute you stop looking for a guy (yes, this was in my youth), you’ll find the right one. I have to tell you. She was right. At the time I had decided that I’d had enough of men (again, still young, mid-twenties in fact) I met my husband of twenty-one years. Yep, my marriage is my mother’s fault. <grin>

So, I have to think that maybe she could be right about what’s in store for me. I’m not pursing a New York contract or an agent. Does this mean I’m hanging my hopes on one finding me while I’m not looking? No, but that would be something, wouldn’t it?

I’m just saying why this feels like a good time to be an author. Why my new motto is No Fear.

I’m working at finding my niche in this publishing industry, and I’m excited that there are many paths to reaching my goals. If I fear anything regarding this industry, it’s that my body will give out long before my dreams. Until then, I’m having the time of my life exploring being a published author, and now editor, in this changing industry.

How about you? With the industry changing as it is and the options available to writers; have you adopted a No Fear mentality? How has this industry changed your outlook?

Posted on February 8, 2012, in Cassiel Knight and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I think it’s great that authors have so much power now; we can self publish and become bestsellers (as proven by the Kindle sales chart!). Really enjoy your blog :)

  2. Thoughtful post, Kim. I think I just got on the the full-steam-ahead train, which could be the same thing :) This new publishing world definitely offers authors options that weren’t there a few years ago. And I’m thinking, there will come a time when we (authors) won’t remember it being any other way.

  3. Yes, the changes in the industry have given me confidence by putting much of the power back into the hands of the authors. I now have a career plan that I feel confident about because I control so much more than I did in the past.

Thanks for your comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,042 other followers

