Guest Author Interview: Jenna Bayley-Burke…by Susan Lute

Jenna Bayley-Burke likes writing outside the lines. She loves family, writing, adventures, photography, cooking, crafts. I’ve known Jenna a long time, but one thing I didn’t know about her is she likes to develop recipes. You can find Jenna online at her website and Jenna’s Romantic Notions. Please give her a big See Jane Publish welcome!

Jenna, tell us about your publishing journey. I finished my first book thanks to the NaNoWriMo program in 2004. I am still shocked that it was acquired by Mills & Boon and released on my 30th birthday. I was hooked, and have been writing fun, flirty contemporary romances ever since.

What’s the funniest thing to happen to you along your road to publication and what was the most exciting? The most exciting was the request for my first book, Just One Spark. I remember opening the letter on my front lawn, and then playing ring around the rosy with my toddlers until they were tired. I had so much joy, I had to wiggle it out. The funniest…that’s harder to put a pin on. I always find the original cover I’m presented with pretty comical. Thank goodness I have some input with my publisher!

What has been the most challenging thing related to publishing you’ve had to deal with on your journey? For me, it’s two things. Time and expectation. I have three kids and a husband with a busy career. I thought I’d have more time as the boys got older, and then we were blessed with a baby girl. Now, I’m finding school aged kids have a complicated event schedule. It may have actually been easier when they were younger because I had more control over when they did things.

Selling your first book is a bit tricky. You think every time will be just that fluid and magical. Then the truth smacks you on the back of the head.

Who are your favorite authors, and what are you currently reading? I adore Vicki Lewis Thompson. She’s doing a cowboy series for Blaze right now that is amazeballs. Right now I am reading a bunch of non-fiction stuff about digestive health, trying to figure out how to ensure I won’t end up hospitalized again. I don’t have time for that!

What’s coming up next for you? I just had a re-release of For Kicks, about a guarded retail manger who finds love chasing her on an extended business trip. In late May, I have a new title, Drive Me Crazy. This one is a schmexy cross-country road trip with a good girl and a naughty Frenchman. Haunted hotels, wild horses, and stealing a private moment in a slot canyon. I haven’t had this much fun writing a story since my first one.

 

Look for Jenna’s books at Amazon and B&N!

 

About Susan

Author, wife, mother, sister, daughter, friend, dreamer.

Posted on March 13, 2012, in guest post, Susan Lute and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I LOVE Jenna’s books! Not only does she tell good fun, sexy stories, but she happens to be a great person too (and fun and sexy I might add). I’m so happy she is putting out more books that I am sure will make me smile.

  2. Thanks for having me ladies :D

  3. Welcome Jenna – great interview

Thanks for your comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,884 other followers

