Rejection, Lightening The Load, New Job, OMG! …by Susan Lute

I have a special fondness for my blog titles, so for a little while you all will have to put up with my trifecta thinking process. Grab your coffee, this is going to take awhile.

This week, Nancy and I have been a bit down in the dumps. One of my favorite projects got rejected, and since we Jane’s tend to ride the same rail, she and Kim jumped on board to offer solace. We’re better now (aren’t we, girls), so not to worry, but I want to talk about it, because the business of selling your baby is so subjective. You have to learn early on how to take it on the chin, pick yourself up, and move on. If you can’t, you’re in the wrong business, and I’d suggest you take up robbing banks, taking on a Supreme Court Judge, or teaching irascible children. It would be easier.

To aid in my recovery, I dug into my office, put up new shelves, rearranged things, got rid of ‘crap’ that’s been laying around for years, and continued working on the doctor story. Dana is at a crossroads. The road ahead is blocked. There’s no getting through. Should she go left or right?

Life would not be worth the living if it didn’t occasionally throw us a curve ball. My curve ball came in the form of a rejection, and two offers for a job. A job, you say? Yup. Though my big dream is to stay home and write to my heart’s content, it’s become abundantly clear it can’t happen yet. One day. Just not today.

So, here I stand, with crazy Dana, at a crossroad. Behind me, my load has been lightened. In front of me, I have two completely opposite ways to go. Each direction has its merits, and its challenges. The choice in the end will be mine.

I guess that’s the point of today’s blog. Probably I’m writing it more for me, than for you, but how do you decide which direction to go? For yourself, and by a strange extension, your characters?

I actually have the answer, since this is not my first dance. First, be sure to examine all the possibilities. I honestly believe, if you hold out for the gold, everything else will fall into place. Know the pitfalls you’ll encounter. No matter what decision you make, there will be good and bad, but mostly good. In your heart you have to believe that. And in the end, trust your gut. Whatever decision you make, things will turn out for the best (unless you’ve missed all the sign posts on the way).

A writer’s journey is exactly that. A journey. The way is paved with challenges, excitement, disappointments, pulling up your big girl panties, taking charge, making decisions, having fun, brawling with friends, charging full steam ahead (my personal favorite).

So hoist your cups, dear reader. Celebrate with me. This week I got a rejection, eliminated clutter I don’t need, stood on the brink of choosing a new job. And I’m still writing. What better way to spend the glorious days of spring?

About Susan

Author, wife, mother, sister, daughter, friend, dreamer.

Posted on April 22, 2012, in Susan Lute and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. I’m cheering for you! And you’re one step closer, maybe two steps if you count the spring cleaning, closer to success.

  2. Hakuna Matata is right! I can’t remember what it means but I do love me a singing wart hog. Awesome blog, as usual. So glad to be on this journey almongst such great companions. Let me know how interview #3 turns out! And I’ve learned that when in doubt, take a left, just don’t do it consequitively or you end up right back where you started. :o)

  3. Congrat’s on your two job offers and knowing you the way we do you will come out on top in all. Love you Dad and Sharon

    • Sharon! Thanks for stopping by. And for the support. I’m going to write it all out, take a long walk, and let the dice fall where they may, tomorrow.

  4. Su, congrats on two job offers! That is a great reinforcement for valuing your unique skills and personal integrity. The fact the jobs are very different is even better. It shows how multifaceted you are.

    As for the rejection, big sigh. Pull the arrow out of your heart quickly, staunch the bleeding, and put on lots of antiseptic to make sure you are protected from infection in your soul.

    I believe what separates those who die in the face of surprising change, and those who thrive, is the desire to learn and improve with the experience. I used to spend weeks agonizing over every job opportunity, not wanting to make a mistake that “would impact my career forever.” Believe me, nothing in my career path over the past 35+ years was expected or well planned, yet I’ve thrived. I have been known to do the same with rejections–making sure I could read between the lines of even the most standard form letter. Did you know that “this is not right for me” means “Where did you learn to write such drivel? You better sign up for class X to improve Y immediately.” NOT!

    Perhaps it is age, or perhaps it’s all the antiseptic I’ve repeatedly put on heart for each arrow, but I’ve learned that no matter what path I choose it is always amazing and wonderful in the end. Yes there are frequently more arrows, and sometimes even a boulder that sits on my chest making it hard to breathe for awhile. But in the end I wouldn’t trade my crazy choices for the road not taken; because what I’ve learned has made me better at everything. Better at my career. Better at my writing. Better at loving.

    • Thanks Maggie…arrow out, antiseptic applied, lol. I was healed pretty much the next day, thank goodness. I’ve been around the writing world too long to let a little thing like a rejection get the upper hand. At least I like to think so, anyway.

      That’s exactly what I’m doing. Agonizing, not wanting to make the wrong decision. Each job will take me in the opposite direction. Interesting juxtaposition.

      I always appreciate your take on life. Thanks for that!

  5. I offer you congrats–both for the new job and for continually going for the gold. You will get there! And you already have it all :)

  6. One of cool things about blogging is those friends who know us become attuned to problems. Jessie called this morning to check on me because of your post. Coming on the heels of my blog on failing marriages, she was convinced more was going on than she knew.

    But Susan is right. Writing cycles affect us all. So when your friends get bad news, you are as depressed as they are. Even understanding the business is subjective doesn’t make it easier. Melissa Manley once referred to getting published as trying to hit a target in the sand that keeps moving.

    For some reason this month is feeling heavier than usual. Maybe it was the surprise IRS discovery that I owed money this year. Or maybe it’s been the constant rain. But today is going to be close to 80 degrees. The sun is out. Birds are chirping. Susan has new job offers.

    Hakuna Matata

    • Hakuna Matata to you, too.

    • Nancy, hugs to you on owing the IRS. I remember when I was surprised by that about five years ago. I ended up making a payment arrangement where I’d pay a part of it each month for a year. It was painful, but it also made me pay very close attention to my payroll withholding and how we paid the business quarterly estimated tax.

Thanks for your comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,013 other followers

