Got Motivation? by Cassiel Knight

One of my favorite things is to discover quotes, motivational, inspirational and just plain interesting.  In my home and around my desk, I have posted my favorites.

I’ve been thinking of promotion and marketing a lot lately, especially since one of my publishers, Lyrical Press, has hired a Promotion and Marketing Director.

So, I thought I’d do a search about the web (because I have so much free time :-D) to see what I can find that speak directly to advertising, marketing and promotion. I found a wide-range of quotes and while many of them were specific to product advertising and marketing, I found some I thought fit quite well into what we need to consider as authors and our product–our books.

I hope you enjoy these as I have.

  • Many a small thing has been made large by the right kind of advertising. – Mark Twain
  • Make it simple. Make it memorable. Make it inviting to look at. Make it fun to read. – Leo Burnett (Pioneer American advertising executive)
  • Without promotion something terrible happens…Nothing! – P.T. Barnum
  • Putting out a newspaper without promotion is like winking at a girl in the dark – well-intentioned, but ineffective. – William Randolph Hearst (American publisher, editor and politician)
  • Do not wait; the time will never be “just right”. Start where you stand, and work with whatever tools you may have at your command, and better tools will be found as you go along. – Napoleon Hill
  • It is all about marketing; that is where the real craft comes in. The best actors do not necessarily become the biggest stars. And vice versa. – Dirk Benedict, Actor
  • The final key to the way I promote is bravado. I play to people’s fantasies. People may not always think big themselves, but they can still get very excited by those who do. That’s why a little hyperbole never hurts. – Donald Trump
  • Advertising says to people, “Here’s what we’ve got. Here’s what it will do for you. Here’s how to get it. – Leo Burnett (Pioneer American advertising executive)
  • Good advertising does not just circulate information. It penetrates the public mind with desires and belief. – Leo Burnett
  • Doing business without advertising is like winking at a girl in the dark. You know what you are doing, but nobody else does. ~Steuart Henderson Britt

In case you haven’t had enough (and I never do), here are some more inspirational ones on writing in general:

  • A critic can only review the book he has read, not the one which the writer wrote. – Mignon McLaughlin, The Neurotic’s Notebook, 1960
  •  Writing a book is a horrible, exhausting struggle, like a long bout of some painful illness. One would never undertake such a thing if one were not driven on by some demon whom one can neither resist nor understand. – George Orwell, “Why I Write,” 1947
  • Substitute “damn” every time you’re inclined to write “very;” your editor will delete it and the writing will be just as it should be. – Mark Twain
  • I love writing. I love the swirl and swing of words as they tangle with human emotions. – James Michener

So, dear readers, what are some of your favorites?

Posted on May 2, 2012, in Cassiel Knight and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Maggie Jaimeson

    Love the quotes. I’m a collector too. I just can’t find any at the moment to share. Maybe I need a quote that says “Get organized!”

  2. Gina Fluharty

    Hell is other people. -Voltaire.
    Do or do not. There is no try. -Yoda
    Keep it simple. It’s the only true way home. -Stephen King

  3. Here’s one I dug up for you from the many I love :
    :
    “In the connection era, the marketing is the product, the service and most of all the conversations it causes and the connections it makes.

    “Marketing is the first thing we do, not the last. Build virality and connection and remarkability into your product or service from the start and then the end gets a lot easier. Build it into your app, your book, your movie, your insurance policy, and the red soles of your shoes.” ~ Seth Godin, from his blog

  4. Awesome list! Quotes are a huge factor in my life as well, especially in keeping me motivated and focused.

    Here are a few of my favorites:

    “The unexamined life is not worth living.”
    Socrates

    “Fear is good. Like self-doubt, fear is an indicator … The more scared we are of a work or calling, the more sure we can be that we have to do it.”
    Steven Pressfield

    “All life is an experiment. The more experiments you make the better.”
    Ralph Waldo Emerson

    “As you think, so shall you become.”
    Bruce Lee

  5. My fav is…Do not wait; the time will never be “just right”. Awesome post, Kim :)

Thanks for your comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,088 other followers

