Guest Author Interview: Linda Mercury And Dracula’s Real Secret …by Susan Lute

Linda Mercury left behind her varied careers as a librarian, art model, and professional clown to pursue writing. She’s interested in writing, romance, the paranormal, reading, organizing (will you come to my house?), cooking, hand-made silk Turkish rugs, and the Mona Lisa. Her first book, Dracula’s Secret hits the Amazon book shelf on July 19, 2012. Please help me give Linda a big See Jane welcome.

Linda, tell us about your publishing journey.

The most important part of my publishing journey was the realization I had something to say. On September 11, 2001, I decided I needed to do believe in my most secret dream and start writing. I’d always written, for fun and for school, and now it was time to admit I wanted to write. I wrote an epic fantasy and a very bad attempt at a funny contemporary before I found my voice in paranormal romance.

What’s the funniest thing to happen to you along your road to publication and what was the most exciting?

The funniest thing was discovering that I had a secret love for the word “that”.

The most exciting had to be the phone call with Audrey LaFehr and Martin  Biro of Kensington Publishing when they told me how much they liked my book, but if I changed this, that, and these other things, it would be  so much stronger.

How cool was that???? A phone call!

What has been the most challenging thing related to publishing you’ve had to deal with on your journey?

Asking for help! The first rule of writing (or any art, really) is to Protect the Work. I took that a little too seriously until I could barely talk about my works in progress.

Who is your favorite author, and what are you currently reading?

My favorite author is Jayne Ann Krentz, but I also automatically buy Nalini Singh, Thea Harrison, and Meljean Brook. I adore Jessa Slade, too. So many wonderful writers out there these days!

What’s coming up next for you?

The first book in my Blood Wings series is Dracula’s Secret, and it will be released July 19th. The second book, Dracula’s Desires, will be released in September, and the third book, Dracula Unleashed (tentative title) will be released March 2013.

It’s ridiculously exciting!

About Susan

Author, wife, mother, sister, daughter, friend, dreamer.

Posted on June 19, 2012, in guest post, Susan Lute and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Linda, yay you! So excited for you and watching and waving from the sidelines! You go, girl!!

    -Melia Alexander

  2. Linda, I am so happy to see you being successful. You definitely have a point-of-view and a voice. Now, I’ll have to get your books in my TBR pile.

  3. Thank you so much, Janes.:) You taught me to talk about my work. \o/

  4. I have read books one and two – love them. Spicy and clever.

    Also I am proud to say Linda is not only my friend, but has organized the books at my home. No longer do my book wander aimlessly in my house, but march to their position on the shelf where they wink and wave shamelessly unless someone picks them up.

Thanks for your comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,782 other followers

