Bits And Pieces ….by Susan Lute

I bring you this post from Silverton, Oregon, where I’m on a writer’s retreat. More on that later. This week during my blog crawl, at Write It Forward, Jen Talley posted an interesting piece on CreateSpace and Lightning Source (LSI), Why Is Cool Gus Publishing Switching from Lightning Source to CreateSpace? Nice comparison of both services, and a good resource when making up your mind which one would best suite your needs.

On to this weekend’s retreat. We’re staying at the Silverton Inn & Suites. Seven of us made it. The weatherman promised sunshine in the mid to upper 70’s, which always turns into 80. It’s raining heavily this morning. That’s typical Oregon. Gotta love it, or move to New Mexico or Colorado. Silverton is what we call, in the valley. A small, picturesque town full of early architectural homes, it’s an absolute joy to walk in. Maybe not this morning. We’ll see.

There’s no rhyme or reason to how a retreat is organized. Each group of writers do it differently. We pick a date (the hardest part), decide who is doing what food. Make a completely fluid agenda – all by email. We had a request this time. No M & Ms, please. Some of us are still in mourning, but the humus and salmon dip have been fabulous. We had a little competition going. Three of us were this (see my fingers pinched together) close to finishing. I didn’t finish first, but I did finish the project. Five of us are partnering in an anthology. The unveiling will be soon. Look for that.

Sad news this week. We lost a great talent. At 71, author, screenwriter, and director Nora Ephron leaves behind many broken hearts, and a body of work that is incomparable. We will always remember her for Heartburn, When Sally Met Harry, Julie And Julia, Sleepless In Seattle, Silkwood, just to mention a few. For so many years my secret wish was to have Nora Ephron direct the screenplay of The London Affair (which I have only started). I didn’t know her, but she was a shining example of how to move through life with passion and purpose. I will miss her.

Books I finished: The Marriage Bargain by Jennifer Probst, Season For Love by Marie Force.

Books I’m reading: The Last Boyfriend by Nora Roberts, The Digital Writer’s Guide To Twitter by Sean Platt & Tracy O’Connor.

New books on my bookshelf: Forever And A Day by Delilah Marvelle

What is your favorite Nora Ephron film? What are you reading this week?

About Susan

Author, wife, mother, sister, daughter, friend, dreamer.

Posted on July 1, 2012, in Susan Lute and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Gotta go with “You’ve Got Mail” — I totally loved the ending when Meg Ryan realizes Tom Hanks was the guy she’s supposed to meet. And when she tells him she’d hoped it was him, well. . . shucks. Who couldn’t tear up at that? I just finished reading Laura Kaye’s HER FORBIDDEN HERO, and I’m reading Cathryn Cade’s WALKING IN FIRE. Next on the pile is Jessa Slade’s SEDUCED BY SHADOWS. Yeah, I’m way behind. So many books, so little time. . ..

  2. Gina Fluharty

    I’m going with “Heartburn.” Truly a fantastic movie.

  3. Silkwood is my favorite movie by Ms. Ephron. She was completely unafraid of controversy!

  4. You’ve Got Mail. I loved that one, and have watched it more times than I can count :)

  5. I am very envious of your retreat, but good for you and whoever else is there with you. Writing retreats are always ver productive for me. As to Nora Ephron, I agree we have lost a great talent and an amazing woman. While I was on the road this week, I saw a re-run of a Charlie Rose interview with her and they also replayed her last graduation keynote for Wellesley. My favorite book by her I think is her last–probably because I can completely relate– “I Remember Nothing.” She has an amazing way of capturing the typical life of women at different stages in our development–but whereas I would probably represent it with lots of melodrama, she presents it with great humor. My favorite movie by her is “You’ve Got Mail.” The perfect combination of humor and pathos, and you can’t go wrong with Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks.

Thanks for your comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,958 other followers

