There Aren’t Enough Dragons In The World …by Susan Lute

I think everyone knows, according to the Chinese calendar, this is the year of the dragon. What many of you don’t know is…I LOVE dragons. The benevolent ones, not the ones that roast you, then eat you for a mid-day snack.

Dragon lore is some of the oldest in the world. I’m intrigued by history, but not so much by research. Yet I will go to the ends of the earth to uncover another morsel about our fire-breathing friends. Most dragons are reputed to be good-humored. According to some, they like to be the center of attention, and are easily flattered (okay, this sounds like me, but I’m a Leo, not a draco). Dragons are fearless. The Wales national flag flies a red dragon. The Arthurian legends are littered with them. Dragons are legendary.

Did you know there’s such a thing as dragonology? Children can grow up to be dragonologists. There are many kinds of dragons, but my favorites are the Chinese lung, and the Phoenix. They hoard treasure. Can be a form of transportation, if you bribe them properly. They are mystifying and full of magic.

This is just one of the fascinating journeys a writer takes when overtaken by an idea that becomes the basis for a story, or a string of stories. Where does reality end, and imagination begin? I don’t know if any of us know the answer to that. But what is left of dragons in our collective memories are depicted in paintings by artists like Ciruelo, and writers, Anne McCaffrey, Dragonriders Of Pern, and Katie MacAlister, Novels Of The Silver Dragons.

There is no end to a writer’s (or artist’s) imagination. Do you know something about dragons I don’t? What is your favorite dragon novel? And if you’ve never read a dragon book, tell us about your favorite fantasy creature.

Within a week or two, my days as your commuting writer will end. I’ll settle into my home office, and work from there. The cool thing is I’ll also get to write more. Before the end of the year I hope you’ll join me on a new journey as I publish a new series outside of my usual contemporary romance. Hoist your cups to paranormal fantasy, and let the countdown begin.

PS. The pics are complements of Darla Luke.

About Susan

Author, wife, mother, sister, daughter, friend, dreamer.

Posted on July 16, 2012, in Susan Lute and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Hi Susan, Pern dragons! Anne was I believe an avid horse lover and horsebackriding was definitely transferred to the dragons. And what an amazing job she did. I would dream that my horse was a dragon! I truly hope your book makes it to a stage that we can read it. I definitely need a really good dragon series. I think I have missed the last few books by Anne’s son, but will have to get on those. Cheers!

    • Dear Anonymous, thanks so much for stopping by. Dragon’s Thief, the first of a series of books from The Dragonkind Chronicles was published in December. You can find it at Amazon, BN, and Windtree Press. At this time it’s only available in ebook format, but I hope by the end of the year to have it in print. Currently I’m working on the next book, Dragon’s Keeper. I’ll have updates here at See Jane and at my website, http://www.susanlute.com.

  2. I’m with Darla in that I’ve been waiting to imprint with a dragon most of my life. In researching dragons in fantasy and myth for my YA novel, I did find an interesting website about dragons, their colors, and what that means. http://www.draconika.com/types.php Of course, just as with people, I’m sure that a dragon’s color (genetics) doesn’t always match his/her personality. :)

  3. I wouldn’t dare think I know more about dragons than you :-) My experience is limited to Puff the Magic Dragon….

  4. Gina Fluharty

    SMAAAAAAAAAAAAUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUG!

  5. Susan – Anne McCaffrey’s Dragonriders series made me yearn to “impress” a dragon in the egg stage so they’d be bonded to me for life :-) Thanks for bringing back many memories of reading her books as a teen!

  6. I’ve been a dragon nut ever since I was a kid… but unfortunately, recently, they are being misused, and I’m talking about movies mostly… but I would love to see an epic adventure with dragons or ‘a’ dragon at least.

    • ahamin, thanks so much for stopping by. If you’d like a sneak preview, you can go to my website (www.susanlute.com) and see a sample chapter there. This book has certainly been an adventure, from writing it, to getting it published. But the best adventure of all is Logan’s and Beyla’s, set in a post apocalyptic world where there is more than one dragon :)

Thanks for your comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,871 other followers

