Guest Author Interview: January Bain by Cassiel Knight

My apologies for the late posting of our guest author interview. Long story, not terribly exciting and my fault. However, I’m happy to introduce January Bain, a fellow Champagne Book Group author. Please join me in welcoming her to See Jane Publish.

First I’d like to say it’s an honor and a privilege to be here. Thanks for having me. And a big, “Hello”, to all my fellow authors.

Tell us about your publishing journey.

“Don’t throw stones please!” but it went rather smoothly. I applied to three publishing houses and two positively responded with Champagne Books answering first, so, being a big believer in things happening for a reason, I went with them. And thank goodness they got back to me first! Been a very rewarding experience working with J. Ellen Smith and my fabulous editor, Judy Giffith Gill. And now my first novel, Forever Man was released July 1, 2012.

What’s the funniest thing to happen to you along your road to publication and what was the most exciting?

Well, the most exciting one is easy, just getting the nerve up to apply got my adrenaline racing! It takes some courage to ask someone else to judge your work. So fellow authors are my unsung heroes.

Something funny, nothing comes to mind… Sometimes I think I’m just too serious for my own good though I do love to laugh. It does the heart so much good!

What has been the most challenging thing related to publishing you’ve had to deal with on your journey?

Yes, having to do so much promoting!!! Who knew, you write the book, you polish the book and you promote the heck out of it. Of course, that’s not just me but all the authors I know take this responsibility seriously. But I will say I’ve learned a lot along the way and I have made new friends which tickles me to no end! Thanks to all my fellow friendly authors out there and you know who you are…

Who is your favorite author, and what are you currently reading?

Ah, I have so many. Though it was Stephen King that really got me hooked. I’m always reading a number of books at a time. Some for fun, some for research and some for learning! And I still love the classics as my reads at Goodreads will attest.

What’s coming up next for you?

Lots and lots!!! My first book, Forever Man (paranormal romance), is the first book of a long series of which I have currently finished four, with one on the way (Forever Angel). (Yeah, I do feel pregnant at times!) Forever Woman is due out in October and Forever Clan in January. I’ve also finished, The Time Key, a time travel romance, and working on PLANET, an Armageddon hard sci-fi, Freedom Falls, a zombie story set in a small town, and the fifth in the Forever Series, Forever Love. Whew!!!

I love to write so I consider myself very fortunate that someone wants to publish my work. I also love to blog and talk about the journey of writing. The two seem to be going hand-in-hand these days.

Thanks and have a great day everyone!

Best,

January Bain

STORYTELLER

Forever Man
Forever Woman
Forever Clan

WWW.JANUARYBAIN.CA
jbain@xplornet.com
http://thewritersvineyard.com/
http://january-bain-science-fiction-musings.blogspot.ca/
http://www.humanmade.net/january-bain
http://www.linkedin.com/profile/JanuaryBain
https://www.facebook.com/january.bain
https://www.twitter.com/#?/JanuaryBain
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6437282.January_Bain

Author Bio

January Bain hails from Manitoba, Canada. Married to the love of her life, her husband Don, she has combined her love of romance with her interest in the paranormal and vampires to produce the FOREVER SERIES of books. She teaches English and Computer courses during the day, and writes at night. She hopes to touch your heart with this third book in the series, Forever Clan and would very much enjoy hearing from her readers. www.januarybain.ca

Posted on August 1, 2012, in Cassiel Knight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Nice interview. Maybe someday you can share your secret to productivity. Good luck with your new and upcoming releases. Helen

  2. January, it’s SO nice to have you here at See Jane. Thanks for being a guest author with us. Your series sounds wonderful. I drool over how much writing you get done, lol.

    • Thanks, Susan, I don’t have a life so it’s easy writing all the time! I’m also taking on a pen name so I can write with no worries about my day job and have just about finished a novella under the new name which I cannot share until penalty of death, probably mine!!!

  3. Thank, Cathy, it was a lot of fun to do! Ya got to love vampires, eh! Best, January

  4. Enjoying your FOREVER MAN right now. You are right about the “little red hen” syndrome. First we gather the eggs, bake the … Lot’s of work and not for the faint of heart.

    • Thanks, Julie, Forever Man is just a sweet little romance, but the series gets a lot more complicated as it grows (and I do!) My hats off to authors, thinking of you girlfriend, that can write so very well and promote too!

  5. I can’t believe how many books you’ve written! How in the heck do you find the time? Good news for me, i can’t wait to continue with the series, you are a very talented writer.

  6. Very nice interview girls. I too am a Stephen King fan. Fun hearing your story January and congrats on your book series. Going to read them all as I do love a good vampire story

Thanks for your comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,766 other followers

