Readers Rock! … by Darla Luke

http://www.dreamstime.com/royalty-free-stock-photos-rear-view-young-woman-reading-novel-image25335138Like most writers, I’ve been a reader for most of my life. Mom tells a story about me “reading” a favorite book at two or three years old. Sadly, rather than being a reading savant, I’d memorized the book she’d read over and over. Much to Mom’s chagrin, I love nothing better than a happily-ever-after Romance book, usually with a huge dose of suspense or paranormal elements.

Without readers, there wouldn’t be a need for writers.  Readers who buy the books that reach the list (below) every week are sending a clear message.  Have you noticed the trend? Romance books have reached the USA Today list, not just once in a while, but week after week! It’s an exciting time we live in.

Here are the self-published books that made the USA Today Top 150 Best-Selling Books list for the week ending 8-12-12* (per USA Today):

Slammed by Colleen Hoover (Amazon Digital Services). This week #19 (last week #20) $2.99.

Point of Retreat by Colleen Hoover (Amazon Digital Services). This week #33 (last week #36) $3.99

Weekends Required by Sydney Landon (Amazon Digital Services). This week #39 (last week #42) $2.99

While It Lasts by Abbi Glines (Amazon Digital Services). This week #90 (last week #169) $3.99

Playing for Keeps by R.L. Mathewson (Smashwords). This week #106 (last week #104) $0.99

Reason to Breathe by Rebecca Donovan (Amazon Digital Services). This week #124 (last week #137) $4.99

Easy by Tammara Webber (Amazon Digital Services). This week #132 (last week #126) $3.99

Perfection: A Neighbor From Hell Novel by R.L. Mathewson (Amazon Digital Services). This week #146 (last week #89) $0.99

I want to hear from you! Have you read any of the above listed self-published books? If so, tell me about it! If you’re not reading a self-published book, who (or what?) are you reading this week?

*I’m human and do make mistakes (a shock to my friends, I’m sure!). If there’s a book on this week’s list that I missed, please let me know. If I misspelled/mistyped an author’s name or book title, I’m extremely sorry.

Darla Luke

You can find me on Twitter @writer_at_work, “Like” me on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/darlaluke, or visit my website: http://www.darlaluke.com

About Darla Luke

Darla Luke spent her childhood making up stories in her head, when she wasn't devouring every book she could get her hands on. If someone would have told her she'd be a writer when she grew up, she would have laughed herself silly. Now, writing is her passion, and she loves telling stories (especially ghost stories) and believes they all should have a happy ending.

Posted on August 17, 2012, in Darla Luke and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. My goal as a reader is to explore the romances that are hitting the list and start reading. First I need to finish my current read, Chaos Bites by Lori Handeland, a great urban paranormal read.

Thanks for your comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,871 other followers

