Some Times You’re The Windshield. Some Times You’re The Bug by Nancy Brophy

My life is an out-of-control pachinko machine. Balls are zipping everywhere, pinging off the walls, bouncing wildly about and then disappearing into some hole at the bottom of the earth.

I’ve totally lost control over my ability to multi-task.

If I didn’t write Romantic Suspense my life would make a great movie with bit players like menopausal zombies and toothless, cackling old ladies who are big time into crazy. It would be the story of a woman who lost her mind because she had too many things to do and not enough time to get it done.

So hang on for a wild ride, this little metal ball of a blog is careening though my week.

First the election – I don’t know about you, but personally I am delighted that the election is finally over. No more political debates, political ads spewing dubious facts, no more finger pointing and name calling, dinner time without robocalls and best of all no more Facebook acquaintances posting their political opinions. Which if they differed from mine I didn’t want to read anyway.

But of course Tuesday was only an illusion. The election isn’t really over. Now we have to listen to everyone’s (and I do mean everyone’s) opinion on what went wrong with the Republicans verses the boots-on-the-ground Democratic cleverness. My mother-in-law was forced to indulge in retail therapy on Wednesday to sooth her anxieties over the previous nights results.

Both Ann Coulter and Sarah Palin are devastated. Karl Rove is no longer the king maker and Mitt Romney is headed to the Caymen Islands to visit his money. Overall, I thought many of the opinions were well considered. But wait – this is 2012 – the year Bubba gets to express his thoughts publicly. Sure enough we don’t have to wait long for someone to tweet about pimps, whores and welfare brats who voted for economic and spiritual suicide. Thank you, Ted Nugent.

Ping. Chink. Chink. Chink.

Amazon Book Reviews are disappearing. J A Konrath wrote a blog about this topic. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/joe-konrath/amazon-removes-reviews_b_2062033.html

He’s annoyed because his reviews for other people are disappearing. I’m unhappy because reviews encourage buyers.

Book reviews are hard to get.  REALLY HARD. Hours and hours go into contacting book review sites and asking for a review only to be told 1) no, 2) yes, but in 6-9 months, 3) I’ll put you on a list or 4) Hell, no.

It drives home the point, I am not a known name and therefore not a priority.

I have been extremely lucky no one has posted mean comments. The worst I’ve gotten are a couple of 3 out of 5 stars, but the written word didn’t discourage a reader from the book.

I’ve had friends who have not been as lucky and I try to imagine I would behave as well as they have in the face of a ugly critique. I know I’m supposed to have developed a thicker skin, but some days you’re just not up for adversity.

Five or more reviews have appeared from my Amazon site.

Apparently this has to do with a petition signed by over 400 authors complaining about paid-for or friends reviewing friend’s books. I’ve been caught in the backlash and have very mixed feelings about it.

Ping. Chink. Chink. Chink.

When I can’t write, I read. Lately I’ve been venturing out – trying new authors. Maybe help them out with reviews.

Maybe not. I read a book last night. I could tell the author had a strong handle on the location of the story. It was also a location I knew. There was enough action that I read the entire story. Then realized that I couldn’t write a review. Way too much was wrong with the story. Today, I looked at my downloaded version to see if it was e-pubbed, self-pubbed or NY pubbed and to read other reviews.

I was pleased to see other reviewers had the same problems with the story I did. Publishing another similar review would not serve any purpose. How many of you don’t publish reviews because you don’t want to be negative? A lot, I’m betting.

Ping. Klunk

The lessons I’ve learned in writing, are lessons that have served me well in real life. Here are a few in passing:

Don’t let anyone distract you from your goals.

Continue to write even if your internal editor tells you to quit.

Persist. The middle of anything looks like failure.

Production is more important than perfection.

Passion is mandatory.

The paperwork is endless.

The rewards are worth it.

Posted on November 10, 2012, in Nancy Brophy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. And here…she…is! Nice to have you back! I’ve missed your posts. I need an external source of snark sometimes. I say we come up with a cadre of pseudonames and review the hell out of our favorites.

  2. Nancy, you have such an easy way of capturing life’s moments. I’ve found that multi-tasking is a myth that in my mature years I’ve decided to let go like Santa Claus. My findings are that reviews between 3 and 5 stars are most read by authors rather than readers and have little to do with sales. I agree reviews are important, but only in that you have them. I don’t think that five star reviews garner more purchases than three star ones. If it is only one or two stars consistently, I’m not sure. I rarely see that. Finally, I thank God presidential elections only come around every four years. It takes me at least a year to recover.

    As for the pachinko machine feeling, I’ve decided to “be one with the ball.” Maybe that’s why YA Fantasy is so appealing right now. :)

  3. I too am now laughing. If you add in recovering from Hurricane Sandy, you’ve described my life perfectly. Time to ask Scotty, to “Beam me up.” Helen

  4. LOL, Nancy! So much of your post resonated with me today. ‘Tis the season, I think, with the “end of the world as we know it” coming 12/12/12–or is that 12/21/12 or perhaps I’m in the wrong alternate universe!

Thanks for your comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,766 other followers

