My 5 Stages of Rejection: Or Why the hell did I think I could ever write? by Nikka Michaels

Dearest and Most Constant Readers– Please welcome July’s guest, NIKKA MICHAELS!!! *Muppet flail*

1) Denial:

How can they not love The Book I slaved over for years, lovingly crafting,
revising, and editing? It’s my book baby. How could anyone not like it?

2) Anger Management:

This is total bs. I’ve read worse piles of donkey dung masquerading as books that hit the bestseller list.

3) Bargaining:

“If I’d just edited one more time the agent would have loved my book.”
“If I’d gone to one more conference, passed out one more business cards, entered more contests….”
“If I had a magical pet unicorn who blessed my MS I’d give up chocolate.”
Okay, that last one not so much.

4) Depression:

I’m putting on my eating pants and eating a giant jar of Nutella. You can pry this spoon out of my cold dead hand.
Rejections sucks. I want to cry and wear my snuggie of shame forever.
I’m a failure. Look, I can’t even write this blog post. I flounce myself.
::sighs and tosses MS into a proverbial drawer to be ignored for a week::

5) Acceptance:

Okay. They didn’t like my book.

The important thing to take from rejections? It’s not personal. Just because it wasn’t a fit for this particular publisher or anthology call or agent, doesn’t mean it won’t be accepted anywhere else. After the Nutella and self-loathing haze wear off I know I need to get busy.

After putting my MS aside for a week or so, I pull it out of a drawer and re-read. With time comes distance and objectivity. Every single time I find things I could have done better the first time. Then I take the feedback I was given and use it to nip and tuck my MS and query. I work on it until it shines, and write faster, tighter, harder…um. Yeah. Sorry, you can take the girl out of erotica.

I rewrite, edit, revise.

Then I hit submit then begin working on another project.

I’m a writer. I write.

It sucks to be rejected, but at the end of the day you write. You write and hope you find a good home for your project. Just keep writing.

About Gina Fluharty

Author of paranormal romance. Like chocolate, I like the darker side of love. It's okay, you can hold my hand as I walk you into the heart of darkness in order to show you the light inside. It's time to embrace the beast within.

Posted on July 31, 2014, in Gina Fluharty, guest post and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thanks so much for having me, Jessa! It’s an honor. :)

  2. Reblogged this on Nikka Michaels and commented:
    ::fangirls::

  3. Thanks for posting with us, Nikka! It’s soooo true that nothing lessens the pain of rejection like starting a new project. Well, starting a new project and Nutella ;)

Thanks for your comment!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,013 other followers

