Oops! Coming Soon by Cassiel Knight

Hi all! I’m working on finishing part 2 of my blog post on the new agency model. Had a little delay (darn good weather and home improvement work) but will have it up tomorrow.

In the meantime, let me give you some links to some great websites – ones I follow on a regular basis (in no particular order). Enjoy!

Carina Press Blog – I love reading this for the information epublishing phenom, Angela James, provides as well as learning about the new books.

Samhain Publishing (my publisher) – Need I say more? Samhain is a terrific publisher, takes care of their authors and readers and has some wonderful fiction.

Lyrical Press (my new publisher) – Lyrical Press has been around for several years. Their owners, Frank and Renee have been wonderful, and I’m thrilled they’ll be republishing my urban fantasy this coming February. And really, check out the stories but CHECK OUT the gorgeous covers. They take my breath away. I’m a total fan-girl for Renee who does the cover work. I cannot wait until I see what she does for me. You bet I’ll post.

Rachelle Gardner – Agent – she has a very intelligent and friendly blog. Sometimes, she’ll do contests. Recently, she did a contest where people submitted a pitch to her as if they were speaking to her in an elevator – in other words – the Elevator Pitch. I’m waiting to hear what she says about mine. 😀

Bookends LLC – Agency (Jessica Faust) – I don’t know that she needs an introduction. 😀 I’ve been following her diligently for over 5 years now. She’s done a lot of first page and query reviews, pitch contests and more. Recently, she’s doing Critique Wednesdays where she (or Jessica Alvarez) will critique a query letter and say what works/what doesn’t.

Slush Pile Tales, Agent Lauren Ruth from Bookends – The Concentric Thoughts of a Literary Agent – if you send her a query (per the instructions on her site, she’ll critique it and post feedback.

La Vie en Prose – blog of agent Meredith Barnes with Lowenstein Associates. She’s a former assistant to Janet Reid of FinePrint Literary Management; however, Meredith stands on her own and has quite a lot of useful things to say about social media. Check out her older blog postings.

Query Shark – Agent Janet Reid from FinePrint Literary Management churns queries, when needed, on a regular basis and also gives insights on what works/what doesn’t. She’s not for the faint of heart, though. Hence, Query Shark.

Slush Pile Hell – One grumpy literary agent, a sea of query fails, and other publishing nonsense. Very amusing quips on real-life queries. Some things people write…

1st Turning Point – Terrific website with tons of articles on all things promotional and marketing.

Night Owl Romance – A powerhouse review+ site run by Tammie King, our chapter’s webmistress and business-woman extraordinaire. They have a gorgeous newsletter you should subscribe to. It’s chock full of book information and articles.

Dear Author – These ladies, and their guest  reviewers, read and review romances from the standpoint of the reader. But that is really a small part of what they do. Sharp and savvy, they offer opinions and information on the publishing industry as a whole. It is one of my favorite sources of information. Check them out – you won’t be disappointed.

Coffee Time Romance & More – A great review site, smart and intelligent reviewers. I just joined them as a Junior Editor. I won’t have time to read all the books for the reviews I edit. They are one busy, but fun, bunch.

Posted on August 7, 2011, in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks, Kim! Great recommendations!!!!!

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

