Why Do You Write? by Nancy Brophy

For fame? For personal satisfaction? For a new career? For money?

Do you write because you have no choice? The stories in your head give you no rest until they’re on paper? Do you just need a new career?

Whatever your reasons are, if you are writing for money, consider ransom notes.

Yes, there is some planning involved. Like a book, the better your research, the better your chance of success. But, the rate of return is very good. For a few short sentences, you could be banking big bucks. Although I understand international travel comes with finding the right bank.

Consider email as an alternative.

Seldom does a day go by that I don’t inherit money from a foreign prince, win a lottery I didn’t even enter, or receive a plea to help a dying Christian soul distribute funds to charity.

As I look for a new job this week, I wish romance writing paid better.  Although in truth, I am not prepared to stay home alone all day. I’ve discovered that I’m boring. I find busywork to keep me active. The dogs only want so many baths before they start perusing the want ads.

I need outside stimulation to write. I’m not talking about overhearing conversations on a bus or at a coffee shop. Most of those I find annoying. To stay home, I would need to meet with a critique group at least three times a week. I don’t have enough friends to make that happen.

However, unemployment has provided me with enough time to start to cut words out of magazines.  You’d be surprised at how many stories involve the FBI.

Posted on August 19, 2011, in General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. All of the above! No choice, crazy people talking to me all the time, fame, personal satisfaction, new career. As for money…I keep hoping it will come in wheelbarrows full. 🙂

    Love the article and your sense of humor.

    Like

  2. I, too, write because I must. I have stories to tell. It’s what I do. It’s what I know. It’s what I’m good at. It’s what I like. It nourishes my soul. But it’s also aggravating, tiring, time consuming, nagging. At times, an angel on my shoulder. Other times, a demon on my back. I’ve known since 3rd grade that I was going to be a writer. Every week in 3rd grade, my classmates and I had to write a story on the blackboard, have it critiqued by the teacher, then we copied the stories into our spiral notebooks. I still have that notebook which is delightful to read because it brings me back to my childhood fancies. Of course, I had no idea back then that I would want a writing career. That came much later.

    I’m such a loner or so in tune with myself that I like staying home. I have so much to do that I am never bored. I always find stimulation because I love the arts–museums, symphony, reading, soap operas (great stories), gardening, etc. so I can keep myself busy forever. My problem is financial. I would love to stay home and write. I would not miss the dynamics or politics of the workforce. That is something I can do without. All I need is a finished romance and a publishing contract and I would be blissfully happy. I would then have pocket change. For me that is a queen’s ransom.

    Like

  3. It starts early in life, doesn’t it? Maybe your creating your own stories or just journaling, but nothing soothes the soul like writing.

    Like

  4. I write because it’s what I do. It’s part of who I am. It’s the only ‘craft’ that has stayed with me through my life when other interests and passions have come and gone. Good writing or bad, it’s with me.

    Like

  5. I wish I had an answer to this question. Probably once a year, I wonder, why AM I writing? I could be mowing the grass right now! But the truth is, I love the writing process; it’s intriguing to explore human nature through character; and I get a warm rush of excitement when I see my name on a book cover, lol.

    Like

  6. Way to work every angle of using writing as a way to earn money. Clever and funny.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

