Guest Author Interview: Marie Force by Susan Lute

And our three winners for Marie’s first McCarthys of Gansett Island Book are….{{drum roll}}…

Marianne

Kat

Patty

Congratulations ladies! I’ll be contacting you shortly.

I am pleased to welcome to See Jane Publish guest Marie Force, author of such wonderful stories, Fatal Affair, Fatal Justice, and The McCarthys of Gansett Island series. If you get a chance to read her bio, you’ll see she is a very busy lady, one who is also dedicated to helping other writers break into the Indie Market. She is a fountain of information, and I appreciate her willingness to share her unique journey. You can find her bio at http://www.mariesullivanforce.com, and her blog at http://mariesullivanforce.blogspot.com/.

Edited to add: Marie has generously offered to do a giveway. Three lucky commentors will a copy of one of the The McCarthys of Gansett Island books. All you have to do to be entered into the giveaway is comment and in the comment, put your email address so we may contact you. Sounds exciting! Thanks Marie!

Q1. Tell us about your publishing journey.

I began writing fiction in 2004, and wrote seven books before I sold in 2007. My first book, Line of Scrimmage, was released three years ago this month. Love at First Flight was next in 2009. I sold the Fatal Series to Harlequin’s Carina Press in 2009, and the first of those books, Fatal Affair, was released in June 2010, followed by Fatal Justice in January 2011, Fatal Consequences in July 2011 and Fatal Destiny earlier this month. Fatal Flaw is coming next February. Everyone Loves a Hero was my other publisher book, released in February of this year.

On top of all that, I’ve published six books on my own: True North, The Fall and The Wreck as well as the first three books in my McCarthys of Gansett Island Series: Maid for Love, Fool for Love and Ready for Love. The last four of my self-published books have made the Kindle Top 100 and all three McCarthy books cracked the Barnes & Noble Top 100.

Q2:  What’s the funniest thing to happen to you along your road to publication and what was the most exciting?

The funniest thing was an editor telling me that “no on wants to read about a super model.” I went on to publish True North—about a super model who is unlucky in love—on my own, and it has sold 20,000 copies. I think I got the last laugh there! The most exciting thing, hands down, has been all the new friends I have made through my books—other writers and readers who’ve become close friends. That has been very exciting and rewarding.

Q3:  What has been the most challenging thing related to publishing you’ve had to deal with on your journey?

The glacier speed at which publishing moves was very challenging to me. I had books ready to go, readers clamoring for more and until the Kindle/Nook/iPad explosion, no way to get my books to readers in a timely manner. Being able to schedule regular releases has been extremely rewarding and has significantly jump-started my career, as I suspected it would.

Q4:  Who is your favorite author, and what are you currently reading?

Robyn Carr’s Virgin River series is one of my favorites. Some of my other favorites are Sarah Mayberry, Christy Reece, Bella Andre and Pamela Clare.

Q5:  What’s coming up next for you?

I’m working on the next McCarthy book, Falling for Love, as well as the next Fatal book (as yet unnamed).

My next release will be later this month, a contemporary called Georgia On My Mind. Here’s a bit about that book:

Since Georgie Quinn’s mother died after a brief battle with breast cancer, the highlight of her life has become “jogger stalking” every morning with her roommates Tess and Cat. Stuck running the senior center her mother founded in Newport, RI, until a replacement director is found, Georgie dreams of returning to her glamorous life in Atlanta.

As that life begins to unravel, she discovers a whole new one in Newport where the jogger turns out to be sexy detective and tree hugger Nathan Caldwell. Determined to get her mind off her many problems—including a possible threat to her own health—Georgie indulges in what she intends to be a no-holds-barred one-night stand with Nathan. Unfortunately, Nathan has other ideas and sets out to have a relationship with her.

Tess, on the run from an abusive husband, and Cat, who raised her younger brother and sister, hook up with Nathan’s brothers, Ben, an injured Iraqi war veteran, and Ian, a single-father and talented musician. Add a zany cast of seniors who seem determined to drive Georgie slowly mad with their never-ending needs and comparisons to her sainted mother, and you’ve got the ingredients for a fast-paced, often comical, emotional journey that leads Georgie straight to the home of her heart.

After that will be my contemporary trilogy Treading Water, Marking Time and Starting Over. I’ve got information about all of them posted to my website at www.mariesullivanforce.com. You can also find me on my blog at http://mariesullivanforce.blogspot.com, on Facebook: facebook.com/MarieForceAuthor and on Twitter: @marieforce.

Thanks for having me today!

About Susan

Author, wife, mother, sister, daughter, friend, dreamer.

Posted on September 20, 2011, in Auth: Special Guest and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. And our three winners for Marie’s first McCarthys of Gansett Island Book is….{{drum roll}}…Marianne, Kat and Patty. Congratulations ladies! I’ll be contacting you shortly.

    Like

  2. I had an editor tell me that books with “plantations” in them are not an easy sell. I wondered if that was the only excuse for rejection she could conjure up. 🙂

    Now, “Innocent Heart” is the best selling of my three books on Amazon, and the last 1/3 of it is set on a plantation.

    Like

  3. Don’t you just love it when someone tells you what people *don’t* want to read-as if we are all churned out of the same “reader factory”? Lol! Your books sounds VERY interesting-I’ll definitely have to give them a consideration. Thanks for including a veteran in one; I have 20+ years as a medical professional over 5 different VA hospitals and I love every one of our heroes. This tells me you have a big heart!

    Like

  4. HAHAHAHAHAAAaaaaa! “Jogger-stalking”! I love it! Great Interview, Marie!

    Like

  5. Thanks for having me! Sorry to have illness derail the day, but I’m checking in now and will be back again!

    Like

  6. Marie, it’s great to read about your self-publishing success. I think you are doing it for all the right reasons–books to get to readers in a timely manner. Your books sound like a combination of fun and serious. I’ll be checking them out soon.

    Like

  7. Marie, thanks so much for agreeing to be interviewed. We love to read about other author’s journeys, especially the ones who are doing so well. Many wishes for your continued success and keep blazing those trails!

    Like

  8. Fun interview and the book sounds like a good read! Congrats,Marie and Su!

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

