In The Interest of Sharing the Journey…. by Susan Lute

Over the last two-ish weeks, I had some interesting decisions to make. In the realm of indie publishing. About my indie books. About Jane’s Long March Home, specifically.

As you know, The London Affair was just published on Amazon and B&N. Part of being indie published is a previously unknown obsessive attention to the stats so, of course, you know I’m watching the numbers and other authors who are digitally publishing, as well. Because as we’ve already said, no two authors have the same experience, but on the off-chance it could happen, I like to keep a watch on industry players. So the first hint that I ‘might’ want to make some changes came in the form of an interesting post by Julianne MacLean, How Important Are Cover And Price When Promoting Your EBook? Very! The part that caught my attention (though the whole article is full of excellent information and insight), was that Julianne changed her cover, and why she chose to do that.

So, with The London Affair making its debut on Amazon, I thought it was time to take another look at Jane’s Long March Home and its packaging. Don’t get me wrong. I LOVE the cover. But it doesn’t scream romance, and now that I’ve had time to swim in the digital publishing ocean, I have a new perspective of covers, and how, if done right, they really are an important tool in selling books. Not that I wasn’t always a believer, it’s just now that I am the marketing department, it’s crystal clear. Hence the decision to give Jane’s a new look. I needed a cover that screams, this is a romance!

Ta da! Here it is! πŸ˜€

Will the new cover grab reader’s attention? We’ll see. This is just one of the decisions an indie author has to make.

Another decision I’ve been mulling over is where to publish The Dragon’s Thief, my paranormal/fantasy romance, a post-apocalyptic novel set thirty years in the future. Yes, this is ‘the book of my heart’, along with a few others πŸ™‚ Clearly, I can self-pub my dragon book, the first of five novels. The biggest consideration…it will require a lot of marketing, along with the contemporary romances I already have in the pipeline. Can I do it justice?

So, here’s the discussion going on in my head. Besides the fact that I think it’s important to have my eggs in more than one publishing basket, who should publish The Dragon’s Thief? Crazy Hair Publishing (me)? Or another publisher? The discussion is fraught with potholes. I’ll let you know my decision as soon as I know πŸ™‚

Ciao!

About Susan

Author, wife, mother, sister, daughter, friend, dreamer.

Posted on September 25, 2011, in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Hi Maggie πŸ™‚ I totally agree. Finding the right home for our books in today’s changing environment is the biggest challenge of all, even bigger that writing the story.

    Like

  2. As always, I appreciate this blog. Susan, I’ve heard excellent things about Entangled Publishing from two CPs who have published their recently. However, I think there are a number of options for your dragon books–ranging from NY to small press and self-pub. I’m not personally familiar with your dragon books to offer specific markets. But I’m a definite believer in leave no stone unturned when looking for the best placement.

    Like

  3. Thanks Jenny for visiting. I love The Spinning Wheel. It’s so much fun there! The three of us, ‘the Janes’ started this blog so we could share our journey as we explore the new publishing avenues opening to writers. We’re glad to have you on the road with us πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Best of luck with your publishing journey, Susan! I came over here from The Spinning Wheel, and will be interested to hear more about how this all goes…

    Like

  5. Kim! Thanks. We have had a discussion or two, haven’t we? And I’ve been listening πŸ™‚ I’ve spent the last day or so researching several digital houses and the one that keeps popping up is Entangled Publishing. I really love their model, and the fact that they print and e-publish simultaneously. I’m also looking at Avon Impulse, and Carina Press. Lots of research to do πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Susan, you didn’t ask for a vote, but I’m leaving one.:-D Not that you will be surprised since we’ve discussed this before but I think you should try small press or a digital first publishing house for your dragon books. And it’s exactly for the reasons you are considering it. Good luck on whatever you decide to do and please share!

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

