It’s Time to Clear Off The Desk Again by Susan Lute

So. I’ve finished polishing A Girl Named Jane, the short story prequel to Jane’s Long March Home, which takes place ten years before Madrid. I think the cover’s done. I have to stare at it a little longer to make sure it’s exactly what I want. When I chose the second cover for Jane’s Long March Home, it set the tone for the rest of my contemporary romance covers. An interesting bi-product, one I was aware of at the time. I have a dedication and blurb still to write, but I’m thinking…it’s time to clear off my desk again!

I have a tendency to make notes (on anything I can find…no, don’t go there) and leave them in the growing heap. Here are some examples. Reboot. A title, I think. Wen, a memoir. A reminder to mention something to Wendy Warren. Amazon Associate. A task to add to my to-do list. Who are your heroes? Who inspires you? Who influences your writing? Ideas for future blog posts. Identity – tough girl. If it is stripped away, what is left? A thought to keep in mind while finishing up the short story. And on it goes.

Which brings me to the kernel of this week’s post. This note says, “It’s like standing on the edge of a cliff waiting for someone to build a bridge and not realizing we have wings.” This is a quote from Wendy (I told her I was going to use it. She laughed) made during a conversation we were having about digital publishing and why it’s so easy for some to enthusiastically embrace indie publishing and why it is harder for others. The bridge quote is a perfect illustration of why it can be so hard.

Wings make me think of eagles and angels. Think of it. What could we do? Where could we go if we had wings? First off, I could fly to anywhere in the world and not have to go through security (which I don’t really mind, but you get the reference). I could soar beneath the sun on a cloudless day when I’m genuinely in need of sunlight to illuminate my way. I could take others on the ride with me.

Today, I have a long list of things to get done. Finish this post. Edit the pictures. Judge a contest entry. Go to the virtual office for a meeting with the Pendacious Ladies. Meet my daughter to tour an artist’s studio in the Portland Open Studios Tour. Come home, work with the Mr. on the house remodel. Follow Maggie Jaimeson and Cassiel Knight on their blog tours. Facebook. Twitter. Stop in at the Spinning Wheel Cafe. And think about my cover.

Clear the desk? Not likely 🙂 Maybe tomorrow, after I’ve taken my wings out for a trial run.

About Susan

Author, wife, mother, sister, daughter, friend, dreamer.

Posted on October 9, 2011, in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I did some computer work this morning, but I’ve been reading, and *thinking* about cleaning the house, lol. Time to get started, right?

    Really looking forward to your interview too 😀

    Like

  2. I love finishing a book because I not only clean off my desk–I clean my house! *LOL* Darling hubby loves that too. Plus he again gets home-cooked meals.

    Looking forward to appearing here on SeeJanePublish tomorrow!

    Best wishes,
    Joan Reeves

    Like

  3. Linda 🙂 I listened and leaned well…I hope, lol.

    Like

  4. “Identity – tough girl. If it is stripped away, what is left?”

    This line really caught my attention and reminded me of Michael Hauge said in his workshop. “When you go past your identity, you are in your essence.”

    I can’t wait to see this tough girl’s essence

    Like

  5. I made a To Do list yesterday and it includes cleaning the clutter in my office and cleaning the floor. I’m definitely going to to that today . . . or tomorrow. Well, by the end of this week for sure.

    Like

  6. Thanks Maggie 😀 I love that I have a well-known artistic style. My daughter-in-law, the real artist, will be proud

    Like

  7. I loved Long March Home, so I can hardly wait to read A Girl Named Jane. I also love the cover–very modern painterly. (Yes, that is a well-known artistic style, she says with tongue firmly planted in cheek).

    Like

  8. Hey Jenny, nice to see you! I wish I could say I did, but no, didn’t draw her. She’s the product of good photography, GIMP and Kodak photo editing programs. I’m going to play a little bit more with the cover and see what happens.

    Like

  9. Lovely post, Susan!

    Did you draw that girl? It’s terrific 🙂

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

