Favorite Movie Lines by Susan Lute

No one is more surprised than I am that I’ve found ‘home’ in a small town. Or that besides dipping my toes into the hot eddies of paranormal/fantasy and loving it (stay tuned), I genuinely love writing what is now being called gentle fiction, “heartwarming stories set in small towns, about what really matters in life:  home, family, and true love.” (Melissa Bourbon Ramirez, Romance Writers Report, November 2011 issue, page 33). While I’m doing final revisions on my current project, a gentle fiction set in the make believe town of Rosewood (very similar to the little community I live in), I’m also taking a break to do what a lot of folks in Rosewood  like to do. Watch  movies.

What I love about watching a movie is that sometimes a line will jump out at me with tons of meaning for that moment in my life. Here are a few of my favorites:

You write your first draft with your heart, and you rewrite with your head. ~William Forrester (from Finding Forrester)

All you have to decide is what to do with the time that is given you. ~ The Oracle (From the second or third Matrix movie)

Don’t think you are. Know you are. ~ Morpheus to Neo (The Matrix)

I especially like this last quote. Don’t think you are a teacher. Know you are. Don’t think you are the best barista in town. Know you are. Don’t think you are a writer, author, novelist. Know you are.

So I return to Rosewood, the gentle fiction story I’ve set there, and the characters challenging my knowledge that I AM the author. Will he get the girl in the end? We’ll see 🙂

What’s your favorite line from a movie?

About Susan

Author, wife, mother, sister, daughter, friend, dreamer.

Posted on November 6, 2011, in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Can’t help you with the Jackie Chan version, I didn’t see it. However, from the Pat Morita version in the 1980’s I loved this sequence at the end of that movie.

    Daniel: I don’t know if I know enough karate.
    Miyagi: Feeling correct.
    Daniel: You sure know how to make a guy feel confident.
    Miyagi: You trust the quality of what you know, not quantity.

    That’s how I feel about writing. I can never know enough about craft, but with each book I learn more and as I send it out into the world I have to trust the quality of what I know, not the quantity. 🙂

    Like

  2. Maggie 🙂 all great examples. There’s a line in the newest version of The Karate Kid that is escaping me at the moment. Jaden Smith is talking to Jackie Chan during the last fight sequence. I can’t for the life of me remember it, but it’s very inspirational. Guess I’ll have to watch the movie again 😀

    Like

  3. Wow, so many possibilities. Of course, my favorite line of all time (in a romantic movie) is from Harry Met Sally in the restaurant when (after the fake orgasm scene) another diner says “I’ll have what she’s having.” That whole scene was amazing and that punch line was perfection.

    I like lot’s of old movie lines and they have stayed with me.

    “I’m not responsible for what people think, Pat, only for what I am.” (Gregory Peck playing James McKay in The Big Country)

    “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn!” (Clark Gable, Gone With the Wind)

    “Well, it’s not the men in your life that counts, it’s the life in your men.” (Mae West, I’m No Angel)

    The line that sums up life for me?

    “My Mama always said, ‘Life was like a box of chocolates; you never know what you’re gonna get.'” (Tom Hanks, Forrest Gump)

    Like

  4. Kim, I like that line too. I almost always misquote it. Never give up. Never die. Never surrender is much better 🙂

    Like

  5. I think I’ve said this often enough. My favorite is from Galaxy Quest – Never Give Up. Never Surrender. That describes my writing career exactly.

    Like

  6. Jessie, thanks for coming by. That is so funny. Take it as you will, but I’m one of those crazy people who think everything that happens packs a message 😀

    Like

  7. The last two movies I saw had almost the same line.
    Green Lantern: There are two types of people in this world: Thinkers and Doers
    Transformers (latest) There are two types of people in this world: Thinkers and Doers (and then Shia’s character names three more types).

    There could be some social commentary about the quality of screenplays or maybe I should take it as a sign from the universe to stop being a thinker and start being a doer 🙂

    Like

  8. Darla, I would laugh too. I saw the lastest version of ALICE, and it was so wonderful.

    Linda, I have to agree with Rupert. Patience IS a virtue I most definitely lack 🙂

    Like

  9. “Patience is a virtue I generally lack.”

    Rupert of Hentzau, The Prisoner of Zenda

    Like

  10. My favorite movie line is from ALICE, a made for SciFi TV movie that’s an Alice in Wonderland re-imagining. Kathy Bates plays a wickly wonderful Queen of Hearts and she tells Alice “Oh, you’ve lost your nerve!” in such delight that I laugh each time 🙂

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

