Guest Author Interview: Genie Gabriel by Susan Lute

We are so glad to have Genie Gabriel with us today. For years she’s been fascinated by the puzzle of why some people collapse under life’s traumas and others emerge triumphantly stronger. Her dramatic action stories explore the lives of heroes and heroines who overcome those traumas, often using touches of humor. However, sometimes humor demands its own vehicle, such as the romantic comedy novellas she has written as Genene Valleau.

Readers can visit my Genie Gabriel website and look on my “books” page for buy links, reviews and excerpts of all my books, including a sneak peak at PICTURE PERFECT LEGACY, the first of the LEGACY series that will begin releasing in March 2012.  You can also find me and my books at Rogue Phoenix Press [http://www.roguephoenixpress.com]

Welcome, Genie, to SJP!

Tell us about your publishing journey.

I started seriously writing my first manuscript 1992. One minor detail: I didn’t sell that manuscript until 14 years later. In the intervening years, I spent many hours learning the craft of writing. I had the good fortune to read about a local RWA chapter, went to a meeting and decided I had found the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. There were real writers at the meeting! Not only had they finished a manuscript, they had books in print! And they were willing to share their expertise with writers like me who were just starting out. I was so excited I joined that night. Soon after, I went to a three-day conference. Once again, I was in heaven. More writers sharing their knowledge. However, I quickly crashed into the reality of how little I really knew about writing a manuscript.

This set up a pattern I repeated several times over the next few years. I went to a conference, took copious notes, had a major AHA! experience, and rewrote my manuscript. Again and again–probably six or eight times. Fourteen years and a number of rejections later, this book sold to an e-book publisher. Less than two months later, they bought a second manuscript, and then a third. Since then, I’ve switched publishers, written two novellas for anthologies, and am celebrating the re-issue of my Rock and Romance trilogy with new titles, new covers I designed, and a new author name: Genie Gabriel.

THE ROCK STAR was released November 1, THE BODYGUARD comes next on November 15, and THE LEADER OF THE BAND will wrap up the series when it’s released on December 1.

What’s the funniest thing to happen to you along your road to publication and what was the most exciting?

This isn’t the funniest, but my most ironic experience was writing a romantic comedy at one of the darkest times of my life. I was wallowing and getting very tired of my own whining. I wanted to laugh again, so drafted the story that became CHASING RAINBOWS, a romantic comedy novella printed in A VALENTINE’S ANTHOLOGY. The most exciting times have been when my books are released. And I’m as excited about the re-issues of my Rock and Romance trilogy as I was when they were first released.

What has been the most challenging thing related to publishing you’ve had to deal with on your journey?

My own doubts about being able to write a novel and that someone would want to publish it. Who is your favorite author, and what are you currently reading? I have many “favorite” authors, and love discovering authors with great stories I haven’t read before. When I’m writing, I don’t read much except to write and edit my own work, which leads into the next question…

What’s coming up next for you?

My next project is a family drama/action romance series of at least nine books. The LEGACY series is set in a small town and centers on a family of eight adopted children and a policeman’s widow with secrets of her own. After Bernie O’Shea is shot on the job, his children are determined to continue his legacy. The series follows each of the siblings as they find their true loves, and forces them to choose between honor and family as they move closer and closer to the truth that killed their father. The first book of the series is PICTURE PERFECT LEGACY, which will be released in March 2012 by Rogue Phoenix Press, with another book following every two months.

THE ROCK STAR is available now for the special price of 99 cents. This book is also available on Amazon.com and other online booksellers. However, due to technical difficulties, readers can only get the special 99-cent price at Rogue Phoenix Press right now. THE BODYGUARD will be available on Nov. 15; and THE LEADER OF THE BAND will be released Dec. 1. 

Folks can also find the two anthologies with my novellas on the Rogue Phoenix Press Website by looking under “Genene Valleau.”
Thank you so much for hosting me today! You ladies are awesome!
About Susan

Author, wife, mother, sister, daughter, friend, dreamer.

Posted on November 8, 2011, in Auth: Special Guest and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Great interview. I never knew Genene Valleau had another name.

    Your upcoming nine-book series sounds excellent. I’d love to see a follow up interview when the first one comes. I’d like to hear about how you plan for that long of a series. It boggles my mind.

    Like

  2. Excited to hear about your upcoming new series! Wow, 9 books? Nice!

    Like

    • Kat, thanks for stopping by! I’m excited about the series too. It’s been fun and interesting as the characters reveal themselves and add more depth to these stories. To me, that’s the magic of writing!

      Like

  3. Hi, Chris! Thank you for stopping by to say hello! We’ve shared a lot of ups and downs, and I so much appreciate your support!

    Like

  4. Christine Young

    Great to see you on the blog and read about some of your exploits.

    Like

  5. Genie, You are the reason I joined MWVRWA and helped me with my writing career. I’m excited about your re-release and your upcoming 7 book series. It’s wonderful to see you have success,

    Like

    • Paty, thank you for stopping by! You amaze me! Driving over two hours to meetings and promoting your books like crazy. I may have welcomed you, but you made things happen!

      (((HUGS)))

      -Genie

      Like

  6. Thank you so much to the “Janes” for hosting me on their blog! I have some appointments that will take me away from the computer off and on, so if I don’t get back to commentors right away, please be patient with me. I will respond!

    I’ve always found the “road to publication” stories interesting. So I have questions for commentors if you’d like to share. If you’re a published author, how long did it take you from first draft to publication? If you’re not yet published, how long did you think it would take to get published? And if you’re a reader, did you ever think about writing a book and, if so, how long do you think it would take?

    I understand my info will be up all day Wednesday too, so I’ll draw for a gift certificate to Rogue Phoenix Press on Wednesday evening.

    Thank you all for joining me!

    Like

  7. Hello Genie 😀 Thank you so much for joining us today 🙂 Fascinating journey!

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

