Happy Thanksgiving! by Cassiel Knight

As I write my late post, I’m sitting here on the second floor of a beach house in Yachats. My husband, his Mom, my Mom and my three dogs are spending Thanksgiving at the Oregon Coast. We’ve always wanted to do this and decided this year was the year.  The thing that prevented us before was simply a matter of timing. As in, getting a place booked before it was too late. So, after a long drive in the pouring rain, wind and, oh my gosh traffic, we made it much too late to see the beautiful, wild coastline. However, I’m grateful to be here, to go to sleep with the sound of the crashing waves and to wake up tomorrow to the same.

To celebrate Thanksgiving, I’d like to take a few minutes to list some of the things I’m thankful for.

* My husband of over 21 years. Sure, he drives me nuts but I can’t imagine spending my life without him.

* My three little dogs – the loves of my life. They love me unconditionally and even stepping outside the front door and coming right back in means I’m swamped with their love. What can be better than that?

* Having a day job. Yes, I’m happy to have that. Most days. It allows me to have the money to do the things I love. Like writing and publishing.

* My family. My Mom is sitting in the chair beside me and I’m thankful she’s here. I don’t get to see her much since she lives in Florida so I treasure these moments. There will be a time when she’s no longer in my life. I will have times like this to remember. My Mother-in-Law who is a kind and gentle soul. I’m thankful she’s been so welcoming and supportive over the years. My father, sisters and brother and their family. I don’t get to see you often but I love you no less.

* My friends. There’s some that are very close and I see regularly. There’s some that I see monthly and there are others I see yearly and some, I don’t see at all but I talk to. I’m thankful for all of them. For their support, laughter and friendship.

* My editors at Samhain and Lyrical Press. For giving me my dream.

* And while I wish I was healthier, I’m thankful that I am good. I could feel much worse and that remembrance helps.

* And last, because if I kept going, I’d run out of room, I’m thankful for all my fellow authors who’ve given me so much joy in reading their stories. May you keep them coming.

And to you, dear readers and friends. I’m thankful you spend your time with us. Have a Happy Thanksgiving!!!

Posted on November 23, 2011, in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Happy Thanksgiving to all the Janes! Yachats is one of my favorite places on the Oregon Coast. I hope the weekend brings some weather clearing so you can enjoy the tide pools. They are some of the best I’ve ever seen. Congrats on 21 years of marriage. My parents, who have now been married 58-1/2 years, honeymooned at Yachats. So, I’ve always felt that anyone who goes there with their spouse is brought that good love too.

    Like

  2. Happy Thanksgiving Wonderful Ladies. I’m glad you are having a good time at the beach with your family, Kim

    Like

  3. Hi Kim’s Mom {{{waving}}}! There is indeed a lot to be thankful for. Last but not least, thank you Kim and Nancy for being here at See Jane Publish with me and for sharing this journey 😀

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

