Surviving Rejection by Susan Lute

This was originally written as an email in response to a question about how do you get back to the writing after receiving a rejection. Rejection is so much a part of our journey as writers, I thought to post it here, with a little editing and a few additional lines.

Dear Writer,

Hugs on the rejection! But it means, you are now a working writer. By the time you’ve been at this for awhile you won’t remember this rejection, and any future one will just be a blimp on your radar. All best sellers (which I expect you to be one day) have stories about how they can paper their walls with the number of their rejections.

I know it’s hard, but if you can take this rejection as a learning experience, it’ll be helpful. Is there a glimmer of something in the letter that you can take away…’I can learn to do that better.’ Take a workshop or class on that particular element of writing. Study published author works (in your genre) and how they craft a story. I still do this.

 How do you write after receiving a rejection that knocks you out of your groove? Start with a blank page. Type letters to form words. String words together to make sentences. Turn those sentences into paragraphs. Paragraphs into pages and chapters of paragraphs. Keep making chapters until you’ve completed the whole story.

Lastly, writing is about learning. Learning the craft, and learning about yourself. It is an endeavor of determined fortitude. Two somethings someone said to me once have kept me writing. I pass them on to you.

To the last writer standing go the spoils! – unknown

Be bold! Be brave! Be yourself! – Kerrelyn Sparks

Hang in there! You can do this. Now get your hinderend back in the seat and start writing!

Signed,

Someone who’s been around for more than one dance.

About Susan

Author, wife, mother, sister, daughter, friend, dreamer.

Posted on November 27, 2011, in General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. What an excellent idea, Linda!

    Like

  2. I knew that putting myself out there was going to be the hardest part of my writer’s journey. I’d always been very protective of my work, even to the point of cutting myself off from support.

    So I decided that every rejection would be a cause for celebration. I had done the hardest thing! Every rejection got met with a glass of champagne and a few moments of praising my courage and persistence.

    Raise a glass of something wonderful in honor of yourself. You deserve it.

    Like

  3. Great post, and great topic. Remember, Writer–you may get a lot of rejections, all of us do. But it only takes *one* acceptance, and the whole world changes.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

