Guest Author Interview: Jamie Brazil by Susan Lute

I took this from Jamie’s bio. Jamie dreams of three-quarter minus. Gravel. She lives in a forest with her husband and Bloodhound. They all write together. The dog’s paws make it hard to type anything so she’s mostly a muse. Occasionally she demands attention and cuts loose on the keyboard. The results are never good. Their driveway is 1800 feet long. It needs gravel, crosses a creek and winds up a hill, through the trees. She thinks there could be more potholes than road. Luckily they have a functioning bridge.

In her former life Jamie was an Emergency dispatcher followed by a couple years spent authoring mid-list nonfiction. Two scripts were optioned to a production subsidiary of Millennium Films. She is inspired by foreign travel, musicals, shoot-’em-up action films, sex, character-driven fiction, morning dew on the dog’s snout and whiskers.

You can find her on Facebook, Twitter and at Jamie Brazil. Welcome Jamie, we are so glad to have you at See Jane Publish.

Jamie, tell us about your publishing journey.

I love romance, but I published first in nonfiction. After working in screenwriting and documentary filmmaking for a few years, I returned to my true love, romance. Hey, that’s full circle!

What’s the funniest thing to happen to you along your road to publication and what was the most exciting?

Funniest? Most of my career looks like a blooper reel. Okay, before I was published, I was at a huge conference hopelessly clutching a printed copy of my first manuscript to my chest. Yes, I was the poster girl of desperation! A very kind pitch master listened to my story and offered to introduce me to a studio executive. During that introduction, just after I said “Hello”, my manuscript exploded out of my hands in a blizzard of white paper sheets. Needless to say, the meeting did not go well. There was also the time I spoke at the Romantic Times Conference and was derailed by a food allergy… right before my session. Nothing says “Professional” like hives and croaking out my speech as my throat was swelling.

The most exciting would be a toss-up between attending Book Expo America in New York City and marrying the pitch master from the previous stories.

What has been the most challenging thing related to publishing you’ve had to deal with on your journey?

Agents! It’s like being in the worst romantic relationship ever. They don’t call back. Emails are sent to a black hole never to be answered. One of my agents disappeared for weeks on end. She made me feel needy and insecure. But with the e-book boom, there’s more control. Look Ma, no agent! I’m still mastering the finer points of Twitter, the blogosphere, and Amazon. Sometimes it feels like my first day learning to walk a tightrope (sans agent net), but it’s totally empowering.

Who are your favorite authors, and what are you currently reading?

Joining the RWA was like finding home. I’m talking crackling fire in the hearth and smell of fresh-baked bread home! I absolutely loved “Letters from Home” (Kristina McMorris), though you can never go wrong with a contemporary from Lori Wilde or Susan Lyons. I just read MWF Seeking BFF. Wonderful book of insights, though it’s actually nonfiction. I’m trying to make more friends to off-set all the time I spend alone at the keys.

What’s coming up next for you?

First I’m going to work on writing without so many exclamation points! Darn, I did it again. Seriously, after I really feel I’ve made inroads with e-books and social networking, I’d like to look at traditional publishing again. There is nothing better than snuggling into the bedcovers with a great book in my hands. Don’t tell my husband! Darn these exclamation points!

About Susan

Author, wife, mother, sister, daughter, friend, dreamer.

Posted on January 17, 2012, in Auth: Special Guest and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. HI Jamie,

    My first Golden Heart entry was full of exclamation points! Big mistake!!!!! Now, I occasionally sneak them in!!! I love your real life romance…you married the kind pitch master! Love it! 🙂

    Like

  2. Great interview, Jamie. And I love !!!! myself. Best of luck with Prince Charming, Inc. and your future projects.

    Like

  3. Hey, Jamie…just droppin’ in to say howdy. Loved your interview!!!!!!!!!!!!

    ;>)

    -Cheryl

    Like

  4. Delightful blog & exclamation points can be fun!!! 😉

    Like

  5. Life requires exclamation points!!! If you use enough of them while emailing and blogging it is easier to resist them at other times. So use up those pesky points with abandon!!!!

    Like

  6. Jaimie,
    I love having this opportunity to get to know more about you and the sense of humor that keeps you so well balanced. ;D
    Exclamation points can be over used when in the wrong hands, but the professional application of them is essential to convey the drama and excitement of a great story. As someone who reads aloud to others I value exclamation points!
    Great interview!!!
    Laurel N

    Like

  7. Hi Jamie! Just stopping by to say hi! I love exclamation points too!!! They are fab!! 🙂

    Like

  8. Ladies, we’re on to something here!!! Let’s form an official “Sisterhood of the Traveling Exclamation Points” where we can click from blog to blog and indulge ourselves with forbidden punctuation!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  9. I see I have a lot of catching up to do if I’m going to hang with the Soul Sisters – I’ve been so warned off of exclamation points that I don’t think I use them enough now. I have a feeling it’s going to be just like dieting – one day I’m going to binge and simply explode.

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Gosh, I feel better.

    Seriously though, I just started Prince Charming and I love your writing style. Congratulations!!!

    Like

  10. What a fun post. I envy where you live. I love the country life and the seclusion, especially when you have your best friends with you, human and canine.
    Does your bloodhound track? I bet you have a lot of stories from being an emergency dispatcher.

    Like

  11. I love !!!’s, but the big ‘problem’ for me is happy faces. Just can’t post anywhere without at least one 😀 …See?

    Like

  12. Great interview Jamie, I usually use a lot of exclamation points too but you have me so self conscience about them right now, it’s crazy 🙂

    You have a wonderful sense of humour and Prince Charming Inc was a great read!!!!
    (oops-sorry couldn’t help it :))

    Like

  13. So wonderful you’ve come full circle again to Romance! Sounds like you have your own romance story in there too, marrying the pitch master and have the requisite loyal hound. 🙂 Love your writing style, and your interview. Inspiring and funny! (couldn’t resist the exclamation point – darn it – there are times it’s needed!) Looking forward to reading what you come up with nex. Viola

    Like

  14. Char, You’re crafty AND hilarious. Maybe we should declare January 17th the official day of the exclamation point! Use them with abandon!!!! Guilt free!!!! Calorie-free, too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    PS- thanks for the kind words and praise.

    Like

  15. What a great interview, Jamie! You crack me up. I have both your books and have started Prince Charming, Inc. So far I’m loving it. I, too, had to stomp on the dreaded exclamation point, after several critique partners and a few editors threw up their hands in frustration. Now, I sneak them in, very craftily and subtly. Even so, once in a while I have to use one but you know, I can quit anytime.

    In fact, I feel the need coming on, right now… ::looks left, looks right, looks behind, looks above:: YES! It’s an open room! Nobody hovering with a ruler, ready to whap my hand! I’m FREE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Ahem.

    Char

    Like

  16. Such a fun book and a fun post, too. Congratulations, Jamie!

    Like

  17. Awww, you guys are the BEST BEST BEST!!! We have an awesome team!

    Like

  18. I have trouble with exclamation points too! Who knew! Great witty blog.
    Fellow SMP author.

    Like

  19. Great interview. Jamie!!!!

    You have had an interesting journey and I must agree about learning the social media being like a tightrope. There is so much to learn. Good luck with Prince Charming Inc and future novels.

    Like

  20. I’ve had the pleasure of reading Prince Charming, Inc. and I have to say I love the author’s writing style and look forward to reading more of her works. And she’s right, not much else beats a good read while snuggled up.

    Like

  21. I love reading your blogs and interviews, Jamie! And darn those pesky exclamation points! BUT I GUESS IT’S BETTER THAN YELLING!

    (I think I’m funny, even if no one else does)

    Best of luck with your books (not that you’ll need it, as they’re quite fabulous)

    Meggan

    Like

  22. Jamie, your journey sounds so unique, and I look forward to reading your books! Thanks for such an entertaining introduction!

    Like

  23. Very amusing and interesting post! I am assuming your stories include some comedy? Seems as if that comes naturally to you. I relate to the exclamation point addiction. I also use many exclamation points in my personal writing! Emails from me always include !! A very hard habit to break! My current editor made a comment immediately about “cutting out some of the exclamation points” in my current story. Which put me through changes because I was rather attached to a number of them. Happy writing Jamie. I look forward to hearing more about your writing journey.

    Like

  24. LOL…loved this interview! Jamie, I love that your life is a blooper real and that your trying to conquer your addiction to exclamation points (that’s something I’m working on too!) Wonderful to learn more about you… 🙂

    Like

  1. Pingback: Did Sigmund Freud have a Barbie? | JAMIE BRAZIL

Thanks for your comment!

