Guest Author Interview: Rachel Brimble by Cassiel Knight

Please help me welcome Rachel Brimble a fellow author from Lyrical Press.  She definitely has her fingers in a lot of publishing pies and it was exciting to read about her journey as well as the hints about what’s coming next.  Want to learn more about Rachel and see what other books she has? Visit her on her website at http://www.rachelbrimble.com

Tell us about your publishing journey.

I began writing short stories after my first daughter was born twelve years ago – after that, it was on and off for a while but I knew writing was my dream vocation. I had lots of stories published in magazines and online as well as being placed in various contests.

Once my second daughter was born, I started on my path of becoming a published novelist. That was the ultimate goal. My first novel, “Searching For Sophie”, was accepted by The Wild Rose Press in December 2006 and published in July 2007.

The rest is history!

What’s the funniest thing to happen to you along your road to publication and what was the most exciting?

See above – the acceptance of my first novel was still one of the most exciting things to happen along the way. Having said that, securing my agent in March was pretty high up there too! 😀

The funniest??? Hmm…I can’t think of anything funny. I’ve had some funny questions asked though… 😉

What has been the most challenging thing related to publishing you’ve had to deal with on your journey?

The most challenging thing for any writer/author are the rejections – but the sooner an aspiring writer accepts this is part of the journey, the better. It is going to happen. No matter how good a writer you are, not every publishing house is going to accept your work. You read the editors comments, take them on board, revise and resubmit elsewhere. Most of all, move on to writing the next story!

My first and second books were accepted by The Wild Rose Press, the third rejected. You can never be complacent and never assume you will always be published after that coveted first acceptance. This is a journey. There will be bumps in the road.

Who is your favorite author, and what are you currently reading?

I have a few – Nora Roberts for romance, Jodi Picoult for women’s fiction, Jilly Cooper just for Jilly Cooper (LOVE her books!) and Phillipa Gregory for historical.

I also try to read my fellow authors at the three publishing houses I write for as much as I can – we have to support each other!  😀

What’s coming up next for you?

I have lots going on but nothing I can announce here today! My first romantic suspense in three years has been sent out into the big, wide world by my agent so I am currently checking me email every five seconds. I also have a Victorian romantic novella under consideration that I hope to hear good news on soon.

Watch this space!

 

Thanks for joining us, Rachel and good luck with your continuing journey!

*************************

Now, here’s some information on a couple of Rachel’s books available now:

Paying The Piper

Nightclub manager, Grace Butler is on a mission to buy the pub where her mother’s ashes are scattered – except the vendor wants to sell to anyone but her. And the vendor happens to be her father…with a secret Grace will do anything to uncover.

Social worker and all-round good guy, Jimmy Betts needs cash to buy a house for three special kids before their care home closes. In a desperate bid for cash, he agrees to a one-time ‘job’ for bad-man Karl Butler. But in a sudden turn of events, Jimmy finds himself employed by Karl’s beautiful, funny and incredibly sexy daughter, Grace.

Their lives are so different except for one unifying thread – they are both trying to escape the binds of their tyrannical fathers. But is the key to their liberty each other?

The Arrival Of Lily Curtis

At the mention of an arranged marriage, Elizabeth Caughley feels her life is over at the age of three and twenty….so she hatches an escape plan.  She will reinvent herself as a housemaid.  Overnight, Elizabeth becomes Lily…

Viscount Westrop wants nothing more than his legacy to be passed to his own son one day.  Even though he feels insurmountable pity for the unborn child already, he knows how much pain a broken promise can cause and will do what is right.  But with the arrival of his new housemaid, his plans are thrown into disarray.  Lily is funny, feisty and the most beautiful creature on earth – Andrew is thunderstruck.  But if anyone suspects how much he wants to ravish her and endlessly love her, Andrew’s lineage will be in peril.  And he cannot let that happen…

Posted on January 31, 2012, in General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. For those of you whining about the socalled peddlers like Avon, Premier Jewelry, Spas and the like, for your information, those companies pay in ALL the sales tax on every product ordered whether it is for the Premier Lady herself, a customer or whomever.

    Like

  2. Hi Nancy,

    I do! I am British and lived in South West England all my life. The pic of me was taken at my favorite place in the world (so far!). It’s one of the many tiny picture-perfect villages that make up the Cotswolds about an hours drive from where I live. Have you heard of them? Britain is quite famous for them and visitors come from all over the world to be transported back in time.

    I am standing by one of the many bridges that span over a tiny stream that runs through the fabulous Bourton-on-the-Water. The biggest of the villages. If you’re ever in England, mark “The Cotswolds’ on your to do list. You won’t regret it 🙂

    R x

    Like

  3. Rachel I checked out your cool website and was interested to see you lived in England. Many of us here are very jealous. Lovely post.

    Like

  4. Great to be here, Susan! Big wave to Christine who is such a loyal follower of mine – how are you??

    Rachel x

    Like

  5. Rachel, thank you so much for joining us! Love your journey story. Your covers are gorgeous. Congratulations and good luck on your soon-to-be upcoming projects 😀

    Like

  6. Hi Ladies…wonderful interview. Always great to learn more about you Rachel: ) Love your book covers and always find your blurbs draw me right into what your stories are about.

    Congrats on your latest release 🙂

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

