Why Self-Publish? … by Darla Luke

A topic on one of my subscription email loops caught my eye the other day. Several authors were discussing the wait time after sending their manuscript to an editor (at a traditional publishing house) who requested it. Do you wait two months? Six months? A year? One author said her manuscript languished on an editor’s desk for over two years. Two YEARS. Writing Tablet

And finally it was rejected … nicely, of course.

Keep in mind, this is not sending in cold. This material was requested by an editor because she saw something in it that made her think it was interesting enough to take a closer look.

In my post last week, I talked about the Publishing Machine and their failure to adapt and change quickly. If they don’t adapt and change, they’re in danger of dying. I don’t believe all print publishers will disappear, but the incredible wait time for authors is one huge reason that self-publishing will continue to grow in popularity.

Nine self-pubbed books made the USA Today Top 150 Best-Selling Books list for the week of 7-27-12*:

Slammed by Colleen Hoover (Amazon Digital Services). This week #17 (last week #22) $2.99.

The Look of Love by Bella Andre (Amazon Digital Services). This week #28 (last week, not on the list) $4.99

Training Tessa by Lyla Sinclair (Amazon Digital Services). This week #30 (last week 78) $0.99

Point of Retreat by Colleen Hoover (Amazon Digital Services). This week #31 (last week #59) $3.99

Playing for Keeps  by R.L. Mathewson (Smashwords). This week #59 (last week #295)

Anything He Wants by Sara Fawkes (Amazon Digital Services). This week #85 (last week, not on the list)

Bedding the Billionaire by Ruth Cardello (Amazon Digital Services). This week #103 (last week #101) $2.99

Easy by Tammara Webber (Amazon Digital Services). This week #118 (last week #92) $3.99

For his Pleasure by Kelly Favor (B&N Digital Publishing). This week #138 (last week #147) $0.99

I couldn’t find the two that Maggie Jaimeson brought to my attention last week:

Wool (Omnibus Edition) by Hugh Howey, Broad Reach Publishing – SF/Fantasy. (last week #99)

The First Confessor by Terry Goodkind, Revel Studios (last wee##142).

If you know where they landed on the list this week, please speak up and let me know!

*I’m human and do make mistakes (a shock to my friends, I’m sure!). If there’s a book on this week’s list that I missed, please let me know. If I misspelled/mistyped an author’s name or book title, I’m extremely sorry.

Darla Luke

You can find me on Twitter @writer_at_work, “Like” me on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/darlaluke, or visit my website: http://www.darlaluke.com

About Darla Luke

Darla Luke spent her childhood making up stories in her head, when she wasn't devouring every book she could get her hands on. If someone would have told her she'd be a writer when she grew up, she would have laughed herself silly. Now, writing is her passion, and she loves telling stories (especially ghost stories) and believes they all should have a happy ending.

Posted on July 28, 2012, in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m starting the research process for fiction novels. In addition to the long wait times, some houses insist on an exclusive submission while they sit on your project for 9 months. Others still want a paper copy, with all the money it takes to print and mail. I am astounded by these dinosaurs.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Two years is absolutely ridiculous. There are certain publishers with a reputation for that type of turn around. I don’t submit to them. One of the things I’ve always loved about Harlequin is they consistently turn around in 3 months. It may be that in 3 months they let you know its going to take longer because it’s going up the line to another editor, or it may be a rejection or acceptance. But at least for me they’ve always made that 3 month deadline. They have an amazing manuscript tracking system. If they can do it, there is simply no excuse for other publishers not to be able to do that.

    Like

  3. One thing I neglected to say in this post is that the decision to self-publish is multifaceted, and the time a publisher takes to review a manuscript is just one facet of that decision.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

