What More Can Be Said? …By Susan Lute

After a year of writing a blog you begin to wonder what more can be said. You go to sleep over your keyboard. The next morning, drag your sorry you-know-what out of bed…going to get coffee. Be right back.

Ahhh…much better. This is the journey of a writer. Most days you know exactly where you’re headed. Every once in awhile, you just wonder if publishing is worth all the work. Wouldn’t it be better to spend some quality time just reading? Or playing poker? It probably always was hard work, even back in the days before the internet, but it’s just a different kind of hard now – if you know what I mean.

So, you’ve finished a book, and I’m not talking about when you write The End, and are facing many rounds of revisions (which I really like, btw). I’m talking about that ‘moment’ when your baby is a highly polished jewel. As good as you can make it. Now what?

Depending on your vision for the novel, how much work you want to do, how much control you want to have, and if you have a book publishing business plan, you have options. My ultimate destination, as Kim likes to say, is to Indie pub my contemporary books and Legacy pub my paranormal/fantasy books. So, a traditional publisher is looking at Dragon’s Thief. And I’m on the cusp of publishing The Broken Road under my own banner, Crazy Hair Publishing (where that came from is another story).

There are several ways to get a Legacy publisher to look at your work. We’ve talked about all of them over the last year…enter contests where the final judge is someone you want to submit to; pitch to your dream editor at conferences; submit to agents who have other authors at the house you’re drooling over; and if all else fails, submit to the slush pile at the house you want. I’ve done this, and while I haven’t sold to my dream house, I did get a full read and great feedback. It works. If you want to know more, let me know.

To Indie publish, you NEED a publishing plan, or tracker, if you will. Here’s what mine looks like after a year of trial and error:

  • finish the draft

  • hard copy revise

  • read out loud revision

  • send to beta readers

  • revise in book format

  • send to copy editor

  • complete final polish

  • create .doc w/front and back matter

  • send to Ebook Formatting Fairies for Smashwords conversion

  • send to Binary Rabbit (site under construction) for Amazon and B&N conversions

  • design cover (or have one done)

  • write back cover blurb

  • review and rewrite author information if needed

  • put it all together

  • publish

Wait. You’re not done yet, but we’ll talk about that next week.

Here’s what being Indie published has taught me – something being Legacy published didn’t. And I don’t mean the actual publication of the book, but just writing the story itself. Indie publishing has taught me how to finish a story. How to do my very best work for that moment. And when The End is really THE END.

Next week, how to market the book, not that I really have a handle on that. Who does? But I’ll share what I’ve learned.

About Susan

Author, wife, mother, sister, daughter, friend, dreamer.

Posted on August 27, 2012, in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love your comment: “Indie publishing has taught me how to finish a story. How to do my very best work for that moment. And when The End is really THE END. ” So true, so true, so true.

    Like

  2. Lol! If the shoe…uh no, not at all. Actually, it’s for me too 😀

    Like

  3. Was this for me?!? Bwahahahahaaaaa!!!!

    Like

  1. Pingback: This Little Piggy Went To Market… by Susan Lute « See Jane Publish

Thanks for your comment!

