Taking the Leap … by Darla Luke

If you read last week’s blog (if not, here’s the link), I’m still working on the stats about the authors that made it to the USA Today Top 150 list, and added a couple more columns to the spreadsheet at the suggestion of a commenter (thank you, rortiz88!). Next Friday I hope to have the list up 🙂

Well, last Saturday my family and I did something I thought I’d never do …

We went zip-lining. You know – strapped into an uncomfortable harness to zip across a tiny cable from one tree to another.

Hardest thing I’ve done in quite a while. Almost a year, to be exact. Last year, at the end of September, I self-published a short story. Just like stepping off a platform 25 feet in the air, self-publishing is a huge step for any writer.

Like some of my family members (both Mom & brother – I must be adopted!), some writers easily plunge into the scary world of publishing without a second thought. They sail through the air of promoting, gliding onto the platform of success with barely a bump.

Um, yeah. So not me. I nearly crushed the poor guide at the other end who tried to stop me from impacting the tree.

Like many of my fellow writers, it’s my lot in life to do things the hard way. Climbing the ladder to the zip-lining platform (writing) took a while.  Stepping up to the the edge, looking over the forest (so many other good writers out there, with more publishing experience, etc) took a lot of courage, more than I’d thought.Self-publshing is SCARY!

The zip-line guide entrusted with our safety was (like my friends) very encouraging, telling jokes and  generally soothing nerves. Following the advice of the guide (and my writing village), I took the plunge into the unknown (self-publishing), supported by the thin wire of faith and friends. Six zip-lines later, it got marginally easier to step off the platform into thin air.

Hmm. I survived both experiences. The funny thing is, while eating lunch after our zip-lining experience, we all decided we wanted to go back soon to try the high-adventure zip-line … 50 feet in the air, with seven lines to traverse instead of three. And yes, I will self-publish another story. Soon.

Here are the self-published books that made the USA Today Top 150 Best-Selling Books list through the week ending Sunday 9-9-12*:

Angelfall (Penryn & The End of Days, Book 1) by Susan Ee (Amazon Publishing). This week #34 (last week#32) $3.99

His Every Desire by Kelly Favor (B&N PubIt!). This week #88 (last week, not on the list) $2.99

While It Lasts by Abbi Glines (Amazon Digital Services). This week #96 (last week #44) $3.99

Sarah’s Surrender by Lynda Chance (B&N PubIt!). This week #144 (last week #121) $2.99

Hard Mated by Jennifer Ashley (Amazon Digital Services). This week #126 (last week #146) $0.99

Easy by Tammara Webber (Amazon Digital Services). This week #128 (last week #120)  $3.99

Anything He Wants 2: All’s Fair by Sara Fawkes (B&N PubIt!). This week #133 (last week #352), $2.99

Crash by Nicole Williams (Amazon Digital Services) This week #141 (last week #348) $3.99

What’s the hardest thing you’ve done in the past week? Past month? Year?

*I’m human and do make mistakes (a shock to my friends, I’m sure!). If there’s a book on this week’s list that I missed, please let me know. If I misspelled/mistyped an author’s name or book title, I’m extremely sorry.

Darla Luke

You can find me on Twitter @writer_at_work, “Like” me on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/darlaluke, or visit my website: http://www.darlaluke.com

About Darla Luke

Darla Luke spent her childhood making up stories in her head, when she wasn't devouring every book she could get her hands on. If someone would have told her she'd be a writer when she grew up, she would have laughed herself silly. Now, writing is her passion, and she loves telling stories (especially ghost stories) and believes they all should have a happy ending.

Posted on September 14, 2012, in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You are braver than I 🙂

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

