Getting Lost on the Internet … by Darla Luke

Have you ever done this? In doing research for what propels self-published authors and/or books to the USA Today Top 150 list, I opened up my internet search engine and typed in Jennifer Ashley … wallah, in 3.8 seconds I’m presented with 100 links to Jennifer. Since I’m researching, I clicked on the link to Jennifer Ashley, Romance Writer. An hour and many clicks later, I’ve read her blog back to 2010 and am now reading an excerpt of one of her books on her website. (BTW, she hasn’t blogged in a long time, probably too busy writing fantastic books!)

The next thing I know, more than two hours have gone by without me knowing about it! Oh, not to mention all the money I’ve spent because I love books! And that research I started? Not quite finished yet. Too much information (and books to read … did I mention how much I love books?)

Jennifer (who also writes as Allyson James & Ashley Gardner) has appeared on the USA Today list before, so this isn’t new territory for her. She’s been published by several print publishers and has two short stories/novellas she’s self-published. This author may not be the best example of how to make it “big” in the self-published world; never fear, she’s one in a long list of authors I’m researching. Two things I feel she does well, write and promo.

In my quest to discover that “Magic Pill” (see previous blog), I will continue researching, undaunted, and will let you in on the secret here, my friends. And I don’t mind getting lost on the internet, since I usually find a new author to read 🙂

Here are the self-published books that made the USA Today Top 150 Best-Selling Books list through the week ending Sunday 9-17-12*:

Taking Chances by Molly McAdams (Amazon Digital Services). This week #23 (last week, not on the list) $1.99

Clash by Nicole Williams (Amazon Digital Services). This week #119 (last week, not on the list) $3.99

His Every Desire by Kelly Favor (Amazon Digital Services). This week #123 (last week #88) $2.99

Hard Mated by Jennifer Ashley (Amazon Digital Services). This week #34 (last week #126) $0.99

Easy by Tammara Webber (Amazon Digital Services). This week #146 (last week #128) $3.99

While It Lasts by Abbi Glines (Amazon Digital Services). This week #149 (last week #96) $3.99

*I’m human and make mistakes (a shock to my friends, I’m sure!). If there’s a book on this week’s list that I missed, please let me know. If I misspelled/mistyped an author’s name or book title, I’m extremely sorry.

Darla Luke

You can find me on Twitter @writer_at_work, “Like” me on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/darlaluke, or visit my website: http://www.darlaluke.com

About Darla Luke

Darla Luke spent her childhood making up stories in her head, when she wasn't devouring every book she could get her hands on. If someone would have told her she'd be a writer when she grew up, she would have laughed herself silly. Now, writing is her passion, and she loves telling stories (especially ghost stories) and believes they all should have a happy ending.

Posted on September 22, 2012, in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks for keeping up the hard work of informing us of the stats. I know exactly what you mean about getting “lost” on the Internet. I always have to complete my pages each day before I go searching. I can easily get lost for an entire day.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

