My Life In Fast Forward…. by Nancy Brophy

I feel like the white rabbit these days. So much to do, so little time. The rumor is that the older one gets, the more life slows down. I’m living the life of Benjamin Buttons. My life is going in reverse. I’m busier now than I’ve ever been.

I have friends who assure me that my life is an anomaly. That nobody really operates the way I do, but I don’t think that is true. I think I function best on fast forward. In my twenties when I had a different career, I would book appointments back to back and then grab a magazine to read if I had a second in between. I really haven’t changed. Now I take my laptop and play Spider Solitaire if I have a spare minute or two.

I never play Spider Solitaire that guilt does not reach up and grab me around the neck. 8,000 things call my name from the daily to-do list. Sudoku and I parted ways because I feared being addicted, but Spider Solitaire is winning that war. And this is dubious good news – I play really fast.

And I keep adding things to the list. Like on Thursdays I now keep my granddaughter, Adelaide. I blame Susan Lute for this. She does it for her grandchildren and makes it seem effortless. A six-month old is a constant feed me, hold me, change me, entertain me machine. I don’t know how young mother’s do it. And my plan to work at home while she was here – well that flew right out the window.

Would I be more productive if I could give something up? Like writing. Won’t happen. I might stop for a while or get distracted, but I always come back to it.

The truth is my best friends are the characters in my books. And because I surround myself with other writers who enjoy each other’s company and support. They understand because our friendship takes second place to their characters as well.

I started to give you a laundry list of my to-do list this week, but it exhausted me to put it on paper. I felt better hitting the delete key. Is that a metaphor for my life? Maybe.

Well, I’ve got to hop off now. I’m on my way to the Portland Nursery to do two presentations for the apple festival. The first is cake in a jar as Christmas gifts and the second is poached pears with a ginger sauce. Here is the recipe for the apple cake.

Apple Cake in A Jar

 

2/3 cup shortening

2 2/3 cups white sugar

4 eggs

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1 1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp baking soda

3 cups AP Flour

2/3 cup water

3 cups grated apple

2/3 cup  raisins

2/3 cup  chopped walnuts

Method:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Lightly grease the insides of 8 straight-sided wide-mouth pint canning jars. Sift together flour baking soda, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon. Set aside.

Cream shortening and sugar until fluffy. Add eggs and beat in well. Add flour alternately with water and mix until smooth. Fold in apples, raisins and nuts.

Fill jars 1/2 full of batter, being careful to keep the rims clean. Wipe off any batter that gets on the rims. Bake for 45 minutes. Meanwhile, sterile the lids and rings in boiling water. As soon as cake is done, remove from oven, one at a time, wipe rims of jars and put on lid and ring. Jars will seal as cakes cool. Place the jars on the counter and listen for them to “ping” as they seal. If you miss the “ping”, wait until they are completely cool and press on the top of the lid. If it doesn’t move at all, it’s sealed.

Jars should be eater or kept in refrigerator for up to a week.

In the words (almost) of the most interesting man in words. Stay busy, my friends.

Posted on October 13, 2012, in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love that! Just hit delete. I think that’s your new motto. Or maybe it’s mine. Either way, it’s great. 🙂

    Like

  2. As someone who took your class today, thank you for the recipe 🙂 Any chance Chef Brophy has a sugar free version?

    Like

  3. Ummm…you never asked if I got any writing done on Nana Friday which has turned into Nana weekend one weekend a month. The answer to that would be…nnnooooo.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

