NaNoWriMo – Week 1 …by Susan Lute

Life is obnoxiously stubborn. When I first got ‘the nudge’ to do NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), 30 days and nights of literary abandon, as is noted on the website, sounded like heaven. I thought…what a nice way to get at least half of the next Dragonkind book done. Hmmm. It was a nice goal.

Then life got in the way and I didn’t get the project I was expecting to finish done, so I thought I’d add it to my NaNo goal. So this week I reached the halfway mark on a Christmas short story with the working title, A Marine’s Christmas Proposal or maybe, A Marine’s Christmas Gift. I kind of like that title.

Anyway, as promised here’s my report:

One thing I wish is that I had time to follow Alexandra Sokoloff’s blog. Nice day 1 post.

Number of words written: 3836. Not many, but hanging in there…and writing every day which I think is the true benefit of doing NaNo. Getting in the habit of writing every day.

Books I’m reading: Mary Buckham’s Writing Active Setting – one page at a time.

Book I didn’t finish before starting NaNo: Crazy Love by Nicola Marsh. Darn it.

I took time to read Darla’s post. Brava Barbara Freethy.

And a shout out to the kidlets who are using the wall calendar as a white board…and their footie pjs.

Okay, yes I did watch four films this week. The Twilight movies. Arm was twisted by the girls in the family who are planning a girl’s day to watch the final film. I’m not your typical Twilight fan, but I’m intrigued enough to join them.

How was your writing/reading week?

About Susan

Author, wife, mother, sister, daughter, friend, dreamer.

Posted on November 4, 2012, in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hi Susan- It’s Renee Quattromani form the Roses Chapter. I’m trying the NaNo as well. My leanings so far: 1) don’t schedule so much into my day, 2)writing something every day isn’t so hard and 3) let go of my inner critic.

    I have a 6th and 8th grader in my house. I cook dinner most weeknights and our weekends are packed full as are almost every afternoon. And for health reasons I insist on working out every morning. Somewhere in there I get to write.

    Hitting 1667 words in a day is tough and I’ve only done it twice in 5 days. But I’ve written at least 800 words every day except Sunday. Not so bad I figure.

    And then there is my inner critic, that little voice that screams at me “You haven’t got the voice right!” “Where is the scene description?” “What happened to the heat?” The writer in me wants it to all go down with wonderful deep third and hit all the marks on intimacy, all while sorting out the plot. The pragmatist in me is happy that I’m getting plot and dialogue out. It’s a rough draft that no one else will see. One thing at a time critic!

    So NaNo is good practice for me. I’m learning time management, to write every day, and to let go of that perfectionism that keeps me frozen in place.

    Renee

    Like

    • Renee! I’m so glad you stopped by 🙂 I think what I’m learning is … just do what you can do. The ‘true meaning’ of NaNoWriMo is, like you said, learning to write something every day, and accept your own process. Which for me today, is split writing times. Off to add more words to my count, lol. I’m thinking of ordering a pizza for dinner. Yum!

      Like

  2. Susan, I really admire your dedication to NaNoWrMo! I tried it, unofficially, one year … and found it’s not for me. Good luck, and I look forward to reading about your progress each week!

    Like

    • Thanks Darla 🙂 I am a little puzzled by my lack of feeling crazy. That’s a new one for me, but I’m just writing as much as I can when I can. And I will take all the ra ra I can get, lol.

      Like

Thanks for your comment!

