Serious about Series … by Darla Luke

Let’s get serious about series. There was a time, not that long ago, that I shunned reading any book that was part of a series 😕 My thinking (while skewed somewhat, LOL), was that I didn’t want to get caught up in a multi-book saga, I just wanted to read one book. Hmmm … I say my thinking was skewed because I never read just one book, in the winter I read multitudes of books, one right after the other.

It was, ironically enough, a novel by Michelle Sagara that changed my mind. Her Chronicles of Elantra series has to be my all-time favorite. It’s never been a policy of mine to go back and re-read a book either. I mean, once you know the ending, what’s the point? But when I finished Cast in Shadow I immediately started it over again. I didn’t want to leave the fictional world of Elantra. The struggles of Kaylin, as she helps police a world populated with Lions, winged Aerians, Dragons, and the immortal Barrani, all while dealing with a threat from her past, was too gripping to leave.

Obviously, I’m not alone. Self-published books that are part of a series have been showing up regularly on this list. When a reader buys into a fictional world, it’s familiar and – if the author has done their job – they want to visit it again and again.

Here are the self-published books that reached the USA Today Top 150 Best-Selling Books list through the week ending Sunday 11-11-12*:

The Secret of Ella and Micha by Jessica Sorensen (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #15 (last week #13) $0.99

Fade Into You by Kate Dawes (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #43 (last week #62) $0.99

Fade Into Me by Kate Dawes (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #73 (last week #80) $0.99

Checkmate by R.L. Mathewson (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #74 (last week, not on the list) $2.99

Down to You by M. Leighton (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #79 (last week #61) $3.99

My Favorite Mistake by Chelsea M. Cameron (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #129 (last week #98) $3.99

I want to break away from highlighting self-published books for just a moment to give a shout-out to Elisabeth Naughton, a fellow member of the Rose City Romance Writers, for reaching the USA Today list for the first time! Enslaved, from her Eternal Guardians series (see, series again) reached #110 yesterday! Congrats, Elisabeth!!

*I’m human and make mistakes (a shock to my friends, I’m sure!). If there’s a book on this week’s list that I missed, please let me know. If I misspelled/mistyped an author’s name or book title, I’m extremely sorry.

Darla Luke

You can find me on Twitter @writer_at_work, “Like” my Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/darlaluke, or visit my website: http://www.darlaluke.com

About Darla Luke

Darla Luke spent her childhood making up stories in her head, when she wasn't devouring every book she could get her hands on. If someone would have told her she'd be a writer when she grew up, she would have laughed herself silly. Now, writing is her passion, and she loves telling stories (especially ghost stories) and believes they all should have a happy ending.

Posted on November 16, 2012, in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Unlike you, I’ve always been a series-aholic. However, I think that writing and maintaining a series is very difficult. The trilogies I’ve liked have all done well. But, there have been a couple of series of 5, 7, or even 10 books that fell apart for me somewhere around book 4. It makes me think twice about the series I’ve started and, at the moment, has a plan for seven books. I think I’ll have to re-read Harry Potter and see how J.K. kept it together. 🙂

    Also, huge congrats to Elisabeth Naughton. She has worked hard on this series and I am really happy she’s made the USA list.

    Like

    • Maggie, oh yeah … I forgot about the series books I started reading, then dropped for various reasons. Usually I just stop caring about the main character(s). Like you, I’m leery of writing a large connected series. Not only does each book have to have an arch for the character, but (I believe) the series also needs an arch. At the end of the series, the world it’s set it or the characters should be different, better somehow. Okay, stepping off my soapbox, LOL!!

      Like

  2. Thank you Darla for keeping this list. It’s SO inspiring, and amazing how the publishing world is changing. If I were a new writer today, my focus would be very different than it has been all these years.

    Like

  1. Pingback: What Value Do We Put on (Self-Published) Books? … by Darla Luke | See Jane Publish

Thanks for your comment!

