Do You Hear What I Hear?…. by Nancy Brophy

Jingle Bells, jingle bells, jingle all the way.

The 2012 holidays have begun.

I once was lost, but now I’m found.

On Thursday we celebrated thanksgiving with family, football, and a brief moment between cooking and over indulging to give thanks for a truly remarkable year. It has been a wild roller coaster ride between the election, job changes, writing and family.

Sugarplums dancing in their heads…

We begin with overindulging on food and in some cases spirits to herald in a new season. It is the season of rich appetizers and fatting desserts. I don’t know what sugarplums are, but I suspect they are an indulgent sin. One could argue I have so many sins already, what is one more?

Santa baby, slip a sable under the tree, for me…

Rather than hitting Black Friday, my husband is on strike against big corporations. He purchased nothing at all on Friday and plans to only buy from local merchants on Saturday. Since I’m not a Black Friday shopper it is no loss for me. The only thing I am missing is Starbucks.

But apparently this is a movement, highlighted by a Zombie stumble in which one is encouraged to dress appropriately (Zombie-style) and bring any leftover Halloween makeup for others. I’m not quite sure how Zombie – not a shopping demographic – are denying themselves by saying no to corporate consumerism.

All I want for Christmas is you…

Writers, like Susan Lute, are releasing special Christmas books. Others of us are trying to figure out how to promote our books in the best possible manner to reach new buyers.

It’s the most wonderful time of the year….

Many are girding their loins to gear up for weeks of decorating, shopping, partying, and winter weather.  We love the holidays and the fact we close our eyes to ignore our diets. My brother has lost 85 lbs so far this year. On Thursday he did not stuff himself with 3 types of potatoes, stuffing and green bean casserole. He practiced moderation, which leads me to believe he’s probably an alien. In January I will regret this and will vow faithfully to diet. At the end of the meal (after the dessert, of course) I did have a brief moment of shame.

All in all I wish each of you a wonderful holiday season – and if you need to have a drink for me, you have my permission.  – Perhaps you will want to join me on my new in January.

Posted on November 23, 2012, in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you for the shout out, Nancy and Maggie. I’m like you, Maggie – don’t want to think about Christmas until after Thanksgiving. But Entangled got me thinking about a Christmas short story in June. The project that emerged turned out to be only half done, and it kind of stayed with me, so that was how A Marine’s Christmas Proposal came to life. David and Charlee wouldn’t let me ignore them 😀

    Like

  2. The Christmas, Hannukah, Kwanzaa, Winter Equinox holidays have not yet begun to arise from my unconscious long enough to pay attention. I refuse to consider them before the first week in December. No decorating, no lights, no visiting Christmas lights before the first week in December, and I avoid all malls and other stores that may be playing seasonal music already. I have one friend, in Oklahoma, who proudly tweeted the week before Halloween that she had all four of her trees up and decorated. Oy!

    I admire writers, like Susan Lute and many others who are getting holiday stories out this year. I am not nearly as organized. Somewhere around December first (remember I don’t think about it until December) I realize the holidays are coming and oh wouldn’t it be nice to have a Christmas story. Definitely too late for this year and the thought of starting one and waiting an entire year to put it out is not appealing. Consequently, I doubt I’ll ever write one. But never say never.

    I will toast the three Janes many times over the next month. I wish all of you a great holiday season. And please count me in the January contrition of sins, back to bread and water, renewing vows of exercise group. Until then I will be content to waddle through December.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

