Guest Author Interview: Julie Eberhart Painter by Cassiel Knight

Please join me in welcoming Champagne Book Group author, Julie Eberhart Painter, to See Jane Publish. Thanks for coming, Julie!

JEPainterBannerTell us about your publishing journey.

It’s been a bumpy road. My first book, self-published, contributed to getting my husband suspended/fired. There was no lawsuit against me, but the publishing company folded six weeks after the book came out. I was on a list of authors in a class action suit brought by the attorney general of Utah. Seems the officers of the House liked to gamble in Las Vegas. 

What’s the funniest thing to happen to you along your road to publication and what was the most exciting?

The funniest is when I’ve created completely made-up characters and then meet them years later. That has happened three times. It’s hard to keep a straight face.

The most exciting is always the first traditionally published book, Mortal Coil, courtesy of Champagne, and Jim Woods’ pushing me in their direction.

What has been the most challenging thing related to publishing you’ve had to deal with on your journey?

Keeping my mouth shut, and of course, promotion.

Who is your favorite author, and what are you currently reading?

I have so many favorites. Much of it has to do with my age at the time I discover them and where we are living.

In Pennsylvania, I read most of James A. Michener, our hometown boy’s novels. In Texas I read for escape – we made it!  In Atlanta, I discovered Anne Rivers Siddons, Ferrol Sams, Pat Conroy and Lewis Grizzard, for southern humor. By then I’d fallen in love with The Thornbirds, by Kathleen McCullough, but her other books were over my less than historical head. That began my interest in more forensic and psychological murder mysteries.

Twenty-five years ago when we moved to Florida, I began reading romance and romantic suspense. A forensic approach with a more literary style appeals to me recently. I enjoy the psychological thrillers of Greg Isles, Harlan Coban, and the very different literary Peter Carey book, The Chemistry of Tears, about a grieving horologist who is given a puzzle/project, a duck/swan with its pieces in a “tea box.” The duck dating back to the mid-1800s’ is an intricate animated toy intended to save a young boy motivation to outlive his TB. It’s a multidimensional book, but the theme is really grief and urgency – fighting the clock. The book is remarkably short and clear.paintermediumrare-ebook

I’m getting a lot of ideas for this kind of reading from listening to Diane Rehm’s radio show on NPR. I’ll be tackling Canada, by Richard Ford next. Right now, I owe Coffee Time Romance and More some reviewing time.

If your novel, Medium Rare, was made into a movie, who would play the roles of your hero and heroine?

Ben Affleck and a boobie Reese Witherspoon, but it would be fun to cast the medium as a gray-haired Angela Lansbury. I hope my readers, come December, see her in it.

www.books-jepainter.com

Mortal Coil
Tangled Web
Kill Fee, Best Book 2011; sequel, Medium Rare, Dec. 2012
http://www.humanmade.net/julie-eberhart-painter

Daughters of the Sea, Jan. 2013 from MuseitUp

Flash Fiction: http://bewilderingstories.com/bios/painter_bio.html

http://www.wix.com/cocktailsmagazine/fictionandgossip

Posted on December 4, 2012, in General and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Everyone’s journey is so different. I gulped when I read about your first book experience. Wow.

    Like

  2. Interesting interview. I can’t imagine surviving your first publishing experience. Congratulations for sticking with it. I was an early Michener fan myself, and I’m still a Harlan Coban fan.

    Like

  3. Fun answers. Your first publishing experience would probably had ended most authors’ careers right there. Good for you that you kept going.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

