Resolve 2013: Nine Authors Start a New Journey by …Susan Lute

2013newyearIt starts right here and on eight other blogs, beginning January 1. In the great tradition of New Year’s resolutions, for the next nine days some of my favorite author friends are joining me on a resolution journey. Each day we’ll comment on each other’s resolutions. I hope you’ll check each one and offer your own stories, or suggestions to help make the resolutions a success.

I love Wikipedia, and you know I’m wickedly fond of unusual tidbits of information. Here’s what that vaulted online repository has to say about New Year’s resolutions:

A New Year’s resolution is a commitment that a person makes to one or more personal goals, projects, or the reforming of a habit. A key element to a New Year’s Resolution that sets it apart from other resolutions is that it is made in anticipation of the New Year and new beginnings. People committing themselves to a New Year’s resolution generally plan to do so for the whole following year.

The ancient Babylonians made promises to their gods at the start of each year that they would return borrowed objects and pay their debts. The Romans began each year by making promises to the god Janus, for whom the month of January is named. In the Medieval era, the knights took the “peacock vow” at the end of the Christmas season each year to re-affirm their commitment to chivalry. At the end of the Great Depression, about a quarter of American adults formed New Year’s resolutions. At the start of the 21st century, about 40%.

I won’t be the first to say, nor the last…sharing your resolution ups the odds of its success. With that in mind, what is your New Year’s resolution? Or New Year’s Eve tradition? I was reading on TimesSquareNY.org about Good Riddance Day. That sounds like a fun theme for a New Year’s party. Whatever your resolution or tradition, share it here at See Jane Publish and at the following blogs over the next nine days.

My champagne is raised. The New Year’s Eve Ball is about to regally descend from the flagpole atop One Times Square. May the new year bring you peace, success in your endeavors, less work, and more play. Cheers!

THE RESOLUTION TOUR – January 1 – 9, 2013art-resolve2013

Maggie Jaimeson – Take a Vacation

Jessa Slade – Get Organized

Paty Jager – Volunteerism

Linda Mercury – Creating a Literary (or Creative) Life

Jenna Bayley-Burke – Eat Healthier

Cassiel Knight – No More Procrastination

Cathryn Cade – Take Time for those OTHER Creative Passions

Susan Lute – Reduce Stress: Find and Follow Your Bliss

Jamie Brazil – Shrink My Closet

 

About Susan

Author, wife, mother, sister, daughter, friend, dreamer.

Posted on December 30, 2012, in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I want to cheat and re-press this SJP post on my blog — to kick off 2013 and intro the series of posts. Great job, Su! Champagne raised.. now off to finish the final post.

    Like

  2. I forgot to had, HAPPY NEW YEAR! May this one be everything you could hope <:-p

    Like

  3. For the past 10 or so years, my New Year’s Resolution has been not to make a New Year’s Resolution, LOL! They don’t seem to help me do what ever it is I want to do better/different/more. I did promise myself (I know, another way to say NYR, right??) to connect with people more this year. Not necessarily readers, but family, friends, coworkers, etc. I (mostly) kept my promise :-).

    Like

  4. I’m really looking forward to this tour and to all the wonderful advice and wisdom I will gain from each of you. At the end, there will be secret prizes too. Hint! Hint! to readers to be sure to comment throughout the tour.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

