Resolve 2013: The Wrap Up – Work Less And Play More

art-resolve2013Cathryn, Cassiel, Jenna, Linda, Paty, Jessa, Maggie, and Jamie have done a wonderful job of helping me with handy hints on how to reduce stress – find and follow my bliss. Thank you ladies for letting me be a part of The Resolution Tour. And thanks to Jessie Smith for dreaming it up.

Now it’s my turn to tell you what I think about finding and following your bliss – don’t groan <grin>. After, I’ll tell you what I’ve learned on The Tour.

Susan LuteDragon's Thief

Dragon’s Thief

I always thought bliss was something outside myself. Something to be found, as though it once was mine and I’d lost it. I’ve been searching for bliss all my life. First I cut off my hair. It hung to my waist. I was thirteen. Okay, that was an act of rebellion, but it was also the kick-start of my journey. I married young. Started my family at twenty. Yes, making a family is a search for bliss though we often get chaos instead. I went to college, studied many philosophies, pursued creative outlets, and here’s what I’ve discovered:

Bliss comes from within. It MIGHT be it’s our heart. And instead of searching the world for it, all we really have to do is give it a front row seat. What warms our hearts, warms our lives…at least that’s what this search has taught me so far. Just a thought to consider.

So, what have I learned from my friends and fellow authors?

>Only put three things on my to-do list at a time.

>Life is an experiment, don’t take it so seriously.

>Spring clean one room at a time to unclutter my house. Take the same careful time to unclutter my life.

>Simplify.

>Live every day as if I’m on vacation.

>Work less and play more.82022664-C11 Susan 2 cropped portrait

I hope you’ve enjoyed taking this resolution journey with us. Onward now into 2013! But first, share what you’ve learned.

You can find me at Goodreads, my website, Facebook, Twitter and See Jane Publish. Sign up for my newsletter and have a chance to win a gift card to Amazon or BN. And don’t forget to support your local authors by becoming a “fan” on Goodreads.

THE RESOLUTION TOUR – January 1 – 9, 2013

Maggie Jaimeson – Take a Vacation

Jessa Slade – Get Organized

Paty Jager – Volunteerism

Linda Mercury – Creating a Literary (or Creative) Life

Jenna Bayley-Burke – Eat Healthier

Cassiel Knight – No More Procrastination

Cathryn Cade – Take Time for those OTHER Creative Passions

Susan Lute – Reduce Stress: Find and Follow Your Bliss

Jamie Brazil – Shrink My Closet 

About Susan

Author, wife, mother, sister, daughter, friend, dreamer.

Posted on January 9, 2013, in Auth: Special Guest and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. It is my greatest pleasure to be a part of such a remarkable group of authors. I would love to get together in December and see how we all did. Will the things we’ve learned stick? Stay tuned 🙂

    Like

  2. This blog tour has been fun! And I think we each hit on something that can make our lives bliss.

    Like

  3. It’s funny that we always look outside when, really, you’d think what’s inside would actually be easier to find! A great reminder to make our own bliss 🙂

    Like

  4. I like how you summarized what you learned. Thats cool! You seem like a really nice lady. The cover on Dragon Thief looks interesting. I’m definitely going to check it out.

    Like

  5. Susan, you are so wise. I love this line “Instead of searching the world for it, all we really have to do is give it a front row seat.” I’m putting it on a sticky at my computer. What I’ve learned from this tour are two things: 1) I am truly blessed to know the other 8 authors and to feel so supported by them. Some I knew better than others and I now feel closer to all of you. 2) EVERYONE has things they want to change in life, not just me. Everyone wants to be better as a person, as a writer, as a member of the universe. It’s always good to realize I’m not alone in my imperfections.

    Happy 2013 and I’d love to do this in December and revisit how we all did.

    Like

  6. It’s been a wonderful journey blogging and commenting with everyone. Big thanks to Jessie for organizing all of us!

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

