Blog Tour Post: The Ruby Curse by Makayla Yokley

Today, I’m excited to have Makayla Yokley as a guest author to tell us about her journey and her book, The Ruby Curse. In addition to our regular guest author posts, See Jane Publish will be hosting stops along the way via Goddess Fish tours. Won’t this be fun?

AuthorPic2012Without further ado, please join me in welcoming Makayla to See Jane Publish!

Tell us about your publishing journey.

It’s definitely been a long one! I used to be strictly into the “traditional” method of publishing. You know: agents, publishing companies, stuff like that. But after a while I began to get really frustrated with the idea that I could actually have written something really good but it still might not go anywhere because it’s not something people are looking for at the moment.

But then I joined my writer’s group and that’s when the real learning began. It was there that I learned of all the different options I had publishing wise, and what the pros and cons were for each option. Being there was what taught me that my initial experience with self-publishing wasn’t the only way it could pan out.

What’s the funniest thing to happen to you along your road to publication and what was the most exciting?

Definitely the formatting of The Ruby Curse for Smashwords submission. I had a friend’s husband do it for me because technology is practically Greek to me, and the way we formatted it took out all the italics that I’d put in the story for emphasis. Because we were doing it all that one day and I didn’t have time to go through and put them back in, the story ended up being published with absolutely no italics whatsoever. That was definitely a live and learn kind of experience and now I know better for the future novels, so hopefully they’ll still have their italics when it’s time to go through and do that.

What has been the most challenging thing related to publishing you’ve had to deal with on your journey?

Advertising. I’m by no means someone to whom this sort of thing comes easily, and its caused a lot of frustration for me. It’s something that needs to get done, though, so I just need to roll up my sleeves and do it. The good thing is that there are so many options open to someone like me: making a Youtube trailer with stock images and stock music; this whole experience with Goddess Fish; social media websites… if you’re creative enough there are a number of different ways to find advertisement opportunities. You just need to know where to look and who to contact.

Who is your favorite author, and what are you currently reading?

Laurell K. Hamilton is my favorite author, without a doubt. I’m also pretty fond of the classics: F. Scott Fitzgerald, Emily Dickinson, Edgar Allan Poe, people like that. Right now I’m reading Marie Antoinette: A Journey by Antonia Frasier. I’m a huge fan of Marie Antoinette and when it comes to royalty (Queen Elizabeth, Marie Antoinette, Queen Victoria, etc.) I tend to become kind of a history buff. Anything else though and it’s a hit-or-miss of whether I know anything about it.

If your novel The Ruby Curse was made into a movie, who would play the role of your hero and heroine?

I’ve been thinking of this one for a long time! I think that for Violet, I would choose Ashley Benson; Ethan would be Tyler Blackburn; and (assuming of course that I would be able to swing this at all) Aurora would be played by Emilie Autumn.

Now, here’s the blurb and an excerpt of The Ruby Curse. Enjoy!

The_Ruby_Curse_Cover_for_KindleThe Ruby Curse

by Makayla Yokley

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

Heroes come in all shapes and sizes… though they’re not usually escaped convicts. Seventeen-year-old Violet Seymour is the only person to ever escape the highest maximum security prison in the steam-and-clockwork powered nation of Arcova. She is also a link in an ancient bloodline of heroes. When mages start going missing, Violet is the only person who can find them.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

EXCERPT

I gripped the bars, feeling the subtle serration in the slick metal. Slowly I took in a deep breath of air, sticky with the summer heat, and released it slowly and with great focus. Nothing else mattered but the almost painful constriction of my lungs beneath my ribcage.

A supernatural warmth rushed over me, riding on the back of each breath. I felt it soaking my muscles and my blood. It was euphoric.

Bones snapped mercilessly under my skin. They shifted and twisted and grew. I bit on the inside of my cheek to keep from screaming, but ended up drawing blood instead.

My fingernails grew slowly, sharpening until they were four small knives slicing my palm open. Blood flowed freely down the length of my hand. I knew that strange, warm wetness anywhere. It dribbled off my wrists and onto the floor.

Hot wind pressed against my face — or maybe my temperature was rising. The flames of Hell licked my face, jarring my consciousness awake to the sensation of cold moisture beading my face like dew. I focused on it—obsessed over it. Keeping aware of it kept my mind tethered to where I was and what I was doing. If I ever let my mind wander too far…

One feeling always begets another. When each breath became a labored chore and I felt my shoulders grinding together, separating and morphing my tiny frame into something else entirely, I yelled and my eyes flew open.

VBT The Ruby Curse Banner

Hope you enjoyed the interview and look at The Ruby Curse. Even though we are toward the end of the tour, you can check out Makayla’s other stops. Here’s the schedule:

January 28: Books in the Hall
January 29: Opinionated Consumer
January 30: Hazel West’s Character Purgatory
January 31: Bunny’s Review
February 1: Lisa Haselton’s Reviews and Interviews
February 4: Sandra’s Blog
February 5: Mom With A Kindle
February 6: Rogue’s Angels
February 7: See Jane Publish
February 8: Journey of a Bookseller

AUTHOR Bio and Links:
Makayla Yokley is a college student who lives in Kansas with her somewhat evil cat named Cujo. She likes to write fiction of all genres. Currently she is majoring in Liberal Arts.

Where to find me:
(Fan page on Facebook) http://www.facebook.com/pages/Makayla-Yokley/231164716982029
(Blog) http://www.theforgotten-kingdom.webs.com/

Buy a copy of The Ruby Curse at:
(Paperback and Kindle) http://www.amazon.com/The-Ruby-Curse-Makayla-Yokley/dp/1479117471/ref=pd_rhf_gw_p_t_1
(Nook) http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/206917

Posted on February 7, 2013, in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Nice interview and casting choices.

    bn100candg(at)Hotmail(dot)com

    Like

  2. What a nice interview. It’s always good to know that young people are pursuing their publishing dreams.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

