Ebook Pricing Controversy Continues … by Darla Luke

It’s difficult to be on the computer eight hours a day, and then go home to fire up the laptop. A delicate balance that other writers who must work a day job face, I’m sure. Especially when work is busy, busy … and leaves no time to jump on here to see what’s going on. Therefore, when I log in and see the comments from my last post, I can’t tell you the joy it brings (They like me! They really like me! :-D).

Thank you everybody for continuing to read this post and take the time and effort to comment.

To continue a dialog on the popularity of free and $0.99 books, check out the post on Digital Book World here. The title is enough to make a writer cringe (Is Amazon Killing the Free Ebook?) and want to beat Amazon.com over the head. It brings up the age-old argument of giving away free books to gain readers. Ever stood in line to get a free book? I have. For over thirty minutes (my limit, I must add!). Entered a contest to win a book? You bet. Did it make me a fan of the author? Yes, it did, but only if the writer wrote a good story that pulled me in and kept me entertained. In later years of going to writer’s conferences, I became picky on who’s book I paid to ship home (not really a free book, huh?).

May writers give away books, and will continue to do so, I believe. How better to get your writing out there?

Here are the self-published books that made the USA Today Top 150 Best-Selling Books list through the week ending Sunday 2-24-13*:

Wait for Me by Elisabeth Naughton (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #6 (last week #9) $0.99  – Still on the list!! Whoohoo!!

If You Stay by Courtney Cole (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #11 (last week #24) $3.99

Waiting for Love by Marie Force (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #15 (last week, not on the list) $4.99

Hard to Resist by Shanora Williams (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #21 (last week, not on the list) $0.99

Tall, Dark, and Deadly by Lisa Renee Jones (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #35 (last week #38) $0.99

Forever Black by Sandi Lynn (Self-published via PubIt!). This week #50 (last week, not on the list) $3.99

Heart Stealers by Patricia McLinn, Judith Arnold, Julie Ortolon, Kathryn Shay (Published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #52 (last week #62) $0.99

Beauty From Pain by Georgia Cates (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #56 (last week #30) $3.99

Hopeless by Colleen Hoover (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #60 (last week #51) $3.99

Fallen Too Far by Abbi Glines (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #91 (last week #125) $3.99

The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden by Jessica Sorensen (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #93 (last week #71) $1.99

Collide by Gail McHugh (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week#99 (last week #55) $3.99

One Week Girlfriend by Monica Murphy (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #141 (last week, not on the list) $2.99

Cutthroat Business Mysteries Boxed Set by Jenna Bennett (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #149 (last week, not on the list) $2.99

*I’m human and make mistakes (a shock to my friends, I’m sure!). If there’s a book on this week’s list that I missed, please let me know. If I misspelled/mistyped an author’s name or book title, I’m extremely sorry.

Darla Luke

You can find me on Twitter @writer_at_work, “Like” my Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/darlaluke, or visit my website: http://www.darlaluke.com

About Darla Luke

Darla Luke spent her childhood making up stories in her head, when she wasn't devouring every book she could get her hands on. If someone would have told her she'd be a writer when she grew up, she would have laughed herself silly. Now, writing is her passion, and she loves telling stories (especially ghost stories) and believes they all should have a happy ending.

Posted on March 1, 2013, in General and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Yay to Eli for still being on the list! And to you, Ms. Darla, for continuing to post. Your assessment of free books at conferences was interesting – I’ve noticed at the last couple of conferences I’d attended that several books were left on “share tables” for others to pick up. Me? I wish I had more time to read!

    Like

    • Ah, I’d forgotten about the “share tables”. There have been PILES of books left there, unfortunately. I feel sorry for the author. It would absolutely kill me to see my books abandoned like that!

      Like

  2. I don’t get to read as much as I used to. . . a hazard of writing every free minute.

    I must admit to downloading two free ebook in the last couple of days. Both authors are published by my publisher, so I wanted to support them. And, I am looking to load my Kindle with reading material for a cruise I’m taking shortly. I will also review the books too.

    Like

    • Collette – even if you get them free, you’re supporting your fellow authors. The download count must show up somewhere, right??

      Reviewing books is HUGE! It can make a book go from a few downloads a day to thousands, to the USA Today Top 150 list. Keep up the good work!!

      Like

  3. Loved your post. I also have a day job and struggle to get in writing time, but I’m happiest when I’m writing, so there I have it! Interesting about Amazon trying to dictate free or not. Love reading your blogs and will try to respond instead of just reading, enjoying, and then leaving without a hello. I’d never do that in person, I shouldn’t do that when on your blog, either! ~ Viola

    Like

  4. Heading right over to Digital Book World.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

