Guest Author Interview and Post: Julie Painter

Julie Painter has visited See Jane Publish before but today she’s back to talk about another book and expand a little bit on her journey as well as writing. At the end, she also shares with us a Welcome back, Julie!

Tell us about your publishing journey.

I feel like I’m in that 70s comedy, “How I spent my summer vacation: First I got up.”

My journey is much like others and doesn’t need to be repeated.

A lot of getting published is showing/getting up. Once I got in the zone the rest was finding a commercial venue for my “words of wisdom”, love, murder or adventure and suspense. This book, Daughters of the Sea, is suspenseful and adventurous. It’s called a paranormal but doesn’t slip off the rails of believability. It uses hallucination and parallel time travel. (Guess I don’t have a firm grip on reality.)

My husband and I fell in love with the Society Islands, where this story is set, and visited Tahiti many times. If you count the English speaking Cook Islands, that would make five times. We’ve been all over the South Pacific, including Easter Island, where the original people were almost wiped out, going from 3000 to 210 before the conquistadors stopped enslavement. The language there is Spanish, but it still holds that special brand of warmth we found in Tahiti.

What’s the funniest thing to happen to you along your road to publication and what was the most exciting?

When I first pitched this book to an editor at a conference, she was overwhelmed by my colorful orange suit and didn’t seem to get what I was pushing. I in my ignorance had “dressed the part.” There is nothing more colorful than the South Pacific islands, always in bloom, always bright and clear, except when it’s in typhoon season. Tahiti has a certain sparkle among its people. French Polynesians are especially pretty having been influenced by the French culture and a little intermarriage in recent years.

Very exciting for me was to have an enthusiastic response from the MuseItUp Publishing staff. Quoting; “We love it!”

What has been the most challenging thing related to publishing you’ve had to deal with on your journey?

I’m not a shy person, but when faced with publishing authority, or any face-to-face question, I am speechless. We used to call it “mike fright.”

When I was in high school, our drama club did radio plays. I had no trouble with the acting, but we were interviewed on a breakfast show to promote the Damon Runyon play scheduled for that night. When the microphone was turned on me, we had “dead air.” The radio station had provided the cast with three dozen donuts and several pots of coffee. I ate six donuts in rapid succession, and couldn’t talk with my mouth full.

Who is your favorite author, and what are you currently reading?

Currently reading is a problem because by the time I announce that choice, (I review for CTR), I’m on to another book. But some stay with me and become like family. The fiction book, Dangerous Waters, by Toni Anderson is one of those books. My most recent literary favorites are A Turn of Mind, by Alice Laplante, The Chemistry of Tears, by Peter Carey, Proof of Heaven, by Eben Alexander, The Yellow Birds, by Kevin Powers.   daughtersoftheSea200x300

If your novel Daughters of the Sea was made into a movie, who would play the roles of your hero and heroine?

For years, I saw Halle Berry as my contemporary heroine. She could still play that part; she looks “mahvelous.” Grow your hair out Halle! The native girl Kura looks just like her but is only 13, so I’d have to see  who’s available.

A blond Hugh Jackman would make a perfect contemporary hero, Ian. The cabin boy, Justin, would have to be an unknown, shorter and younger fifteen-year-old.

Special material:

Daughters of the Sea’s legend of the coconut as told  over dinner by contemporary hero, Ian Christopher, to  contemporary heroine, Laura Cates.

“Oh, you know, the old love conquers all stories.” Ian hunched closer.

            “One told of how the coconut palm came to be. Are you sure you want to hear it? It’s fantasy.”

            “I love fantasy.”

            “Well, okay. It seems long ago when the island was bare of tall trees an eel from the sea fell in love with the Goddess of Earth. They met each day on the shore, to make love. Soon they came to realize they were not suited. She couldn’t live in the sea and he couldn’t survive on land. 

            “One day, as a show of his love, he climbed all the way to the top of her mountain. He was dying and asked her to cut off his head and plant it. ‘From my head will grow a tall tree reaching toward heaven. The tree will bear fruit. Inside the fruit will be a sweet liquid to remind you of the sweet kisses we have shared. The face of the fruit will be my face. Then I will be with you always.’”

About Julie:
Julie Eberhart Painter, a Pennsylvania transplant lives in Central Florida, is the Champagne Books author of Mortal Coil, Tangled Web, and the 2011 Book of the Year, Kill Fee. The sequel, Medium Rare released December 3, 2012. and, Daughters of the Sea, a paranormal coming released January 25, 2013 from http://www.MuseItUp Publishing.com

Visit Julie’s Web site at www.books-jepainter.com

Twitter: @JulieEPainter
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com (Search) Julie Eberhart Painter
Linked-In: http://www.linkedin.com/search/fpsearch?type=people&keywords=Julie+Eberhart+Painter&pplSearchOrigin=GLHD&pageKey=member-home&search=Search

Posted on March 12, 2013, in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Got a kick out of your donut story, Julie! Congratulations on your new release Daughters of the Sea.

    Like

  2. I hit liked not realized that on this loop I a this loop. Technology is so confusing. Loved the interview especially the orange suit part. When dealing with an agent/editor, I like to see myself as the star of the show. I sometimes think they look at me like I am the queen of bizarre world.

    Like

  3. Thank you so much for having me, Cassie. Love your blog and follow it regurlarly.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

