Move Along Indie Author, Move Along …by Susan Lute

Steam punk girl with Typewriter.First, an update: Total word count written for Bear’s Full House (working title), 17,804. I didn’t add many words this week, BUT… I did get all the Amazon books working. Yay for the marvel of Jutoh! Also I’m reading Wait For Me (#129 this week on the USA Today Book List, where it’s make a strong showing for the last month) by Elizabeth Naughton. What a great read! I can barely put it down.

Now that I’ve got the Amazon books fixed, other projects are lining up. Today I was thinking about that and how important it is to figure out how to let go and follow the winding river. It’s like white water rafting. There are places in the river where rapids nearly dump you from the raft. And there are stretches so Zen-like smooth, you just know you’re on the right river. I wonder if the trick is knowing you’re on course while bouncing through the rapids? And what strategies do you need to get to that place of knowing? I have a suspicion it just takes practice.

There’s so much in life you can’t control. The publishing business is a prime example. What if we’re not supposed to be in control? That’s a scary thought for a control freak, because wind gliding without a tether doesn’t strike me as a safe or responsible sport. So many elements go into making up my day…and I’m not the only one. I’ll bet your days are chuck full of busy. What if it really doesn’t matter what we do (within the bounds of legality and moral behavior), just as long as we do?

…the next morning. It’s funny how life points out what’s important. The baby girl woke up with the stomach flu; the kind that twists your guts into knots. It’s been making the rounds here. With her sweet face buried in my shoulder, her tiny voice full of tears saying, “Hurts,” in that moment, nothing else mattered. Not the strategies for making it as an Indie author. Not the number of novels I’ll publish this year. Not even the writing. That little girl trust us, the adults in her life, to make everything better. You know, she’s right. And following the course of the river, full of crazy turns or not, suddenly doesn’t feel so dangerous.

Until next week, happy living!

Ciao

About Susan

Author, wife, mother, sister, daughter, friend, dreamer.

Posted on April 1, 2013, in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hugs to baby girl and getting past the flu. That is so hard for a young one.

    I agree that you cannot control everything. In fact, there is precious little we can control except our reaction to what life throws us. I’ve always been a wide-eyed optimist and that has led to probably more risk-taking than some people.

    In publishing I try to always look forward instead of backward.That probably comes from managing departments, people, companies relating to technology over the past 30 years. In that time I’ve learned that trying to return to a “golden age” of anything never works. First, it doesn’t work because that “golden age” wasn’t all that golden to start with. It is my selective memory that has made it seem so. Second, people and technology change constantly. The only thing I can do is to move forward. Learn what I can, make my best predictions for that month, and act.

    Finally, the most important rule for living with a lack of control over the world is to give myself some slack for not always being right. I don’t know what my percentage of “right” guesses is. That’s because I don’t bother to keep track. There are so many little decisions made in a day, and bigger decisions made in a week or a month, that I don’t think I could break them apart and truly know which one impacted which other one and made the final “wrong” or “right” guess. If the percentage is negative, it would stop me in my tracks. If the percentage is positive, it would likely make my head too big to get in the room. I THINK it is positive. Yes, that’s the optimist in me. If I didn’t believe that, I don’t think I could move forward.

    Control is highly overrated.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

