Guest Publisher Post: Eggplant Literary Productions by Cassiel Knight

I’m pleased to welcome Eggplant Literary Productions, a new to us publisher on the scene, to See Jane Publish today.

Here is the owner, Raechel’s post. Enjoy!

***********************************

MEDIA KIT Eggplant Logo copy copyLife is funny at times.  There are events and choices you make that seem to lead inevitably back to the same place.  That’s the story with my publishing company, Eggplant Literary Productions.  Over the years it has become clear to me that finding great stories to share with others is what I’m meant to do.  It’s a good thing I really enjoy it.

Eggplant Literary Productions is a small speculative fiction e-publisher.  We specialize in fantasy, science fiction and horror in novella lengths (20,000 to 40,000 words).  The narrow focus is the result of my path to publishing.

I started Eggplant in 1997 when I published a small science fiction and fantasy e-zine, Jackhammer.  I moved on to e-books in 2001, long before dedicated e-readers.  At the time I felt novella length fiction–short enough to read off a computer screen in one sitting or to print out without breaking the bank–was perfect for e-books.  I still feel that way now that Nooks and Kindles have emerged.  I ran Eggplant from 1997 to 2005 when family issues forced me to put the company on hiatus.  It was one of the toughest decisions I ever made, one that I regretted for years after.

In the intervening years I had a baby, got divorced, spent years as a costumer and seamstress to support myself and my daughter, got remarried and had a son.  All that time, in the back of my head, was the desire to get back to what I was good at.  It took some time to get to a point where I could even rethink opening up again.  That time came in 2011 when I announced the relaunch of Eggplant at Windycon.

This time around I’m not running the business alone.  I have a wonderful team of people working with me to bring stories to press.  Our art director Sam Press has worked over the past two years to contract wonderful artists for our covers (you can see them at http://eggplantproductions.com/e-books/).  Our copy editor, Trey, and I work with each author on editing.  And on the marketing and promotion side we have a pair: Stephan and Sarah who are in charge of getting the word out.

We have a very conservative publication schedule: one title a month.  This allows us the time to give each title the attention it needs to create an attractive e-book.  All of our titles are published in DRM-free ePub formats.  We sell titles through our own site, and vendors like Amazon.com, B&N.com and Kobo.  Last month we even attended Wiscon (a feminist science fiction convention), hosting a booth there and trying out a system of selling our titles face to face, which worked out amazingly.Cover-Final-OL-ARE

As far as submissions are concerned, we’re looking for novella length speculative fiction (fantasy, science fiction and horror).  We’re especially interested in stories, characters and settings that fall outside the typical: minority characters, non-Western settings, interstitial genres.  You can find our guidelines at: http://eggplantproductions.com/general-guidelines/guidelines-for-e-book-submissions/

We’re coming up on our first year anniversary of the restart.  So far we’ve kept to our publication schedule, reconnected with many supporters from before, and made new friends.  Most importantly, however, we’ve published some really wonderful stories.  I see us continuing to do so for many more years, no matter what the future brings.

Raechel Henderson
Publisher / Editor

**************************

Here’s some social media information:

Eggplant Literary Productions
Website:  eggplantproductions.com
Email:  eggplant@eggplantproductions.com
Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/pages/Eggplant-Literary-Productions-Inc/275546535822149
Twitter:  @EggplantProduct

As part of the tour, Eggplant Literary Productions is giving away, at each stop, a postcard-size cover art signed by the author or cover artist. One randomly drawn commenter will receive the full set of cover prints in a custom-made handbag embroidered with the logo drawn at the end of the tour.

For more chances to win, follow the tour and comment. The tour dates are here:

http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2013/04/publisher-spotlight-eggplant-literary.html

Hope you enjoyed this look into a publisher. Raechel, thanks for being on See Jane Publish and we wish you all the best!

Posted on June 12, 2013, in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my
    blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would
    have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything.
    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

    Like

  3. Raechel 🙂 It’s so nice to have you join us, and what a wonderful journey you’ve had. What would you say typical sales are for an individual title? I know it “depends”, but could you give us an average figure?

    Like

    • Hi Susan!

      You’re right that it depends, some titles have sold more than others. Since we haven’t hit the year mark yet, I can’t really give an average figure. What I can say is that our sales over all have been small. No one has earned out their advance yet.

      This is because up until two months ago we were focused on getting our production process working smoothly (from acceptance to editing to cover art to layout and design). We spent more time making sure we were putting together quality books than on our promotional efforts.

      Now that we’re keeping to our publication schedule and have all our ducks in a row (so to speak) I’ve been able to focus more on the promotion and marketing of things. We added another person to help out in that regard. She, and Stephan, our marketing director, have been working on that, contacting reviewers, working on blog tours, social media, etc. And I can say that our sales have doubled since they got to work. That’s one of the reasons Eggplant is doing this blog tour. I wanted to see what it was like before we send authors out on tour.

      Like

  4. Thank you, again, for hosting our post, asking questions, and letting me ramble a bit!

    Like

  5. Congratulations on restarting your company. It sounds interesting. Did you choose to do only novella length because of a belief that is the attention span of SF/Fantasy/Horror readers? Or is it a desire to fulfill a niche? Personally, I tend to be frustrated with novellas because I’m always left wanting more. However, I may not be the norm at all.

    Like

    • Thank you! Originally, I went with the novella length because of the reading limitations for e-books back in the early 2000s. Speculative fiction has a well-established tradition of shorter novels.

      The problem, for writers, is if they write a novella they often only have two choices: either cut it way, way down so it can find a home in a magazine, or add a lot of unnecessary wordage to pump it up into a novel. Some authors can make that work, but mostly I think it ruins the story.

      I feel there’s a market for novellas, at the very least among speculative fiction readers, and I’d rather read a story that’s just the right length–whether that be short, medium or long–than something that has been contorted to fit another publisher’s word length. 😀

      Like

  6. Hello! Thank you for having us to your blog today! I’ll be around to answer any questions people might have.

    Like

  7. Raechel, if you had one piece of advice to offer aspiring authors, what would it be?

    Like

    • Advice for aspiring authors? Write for yourself, first and foremost. Write the kind of story you would want to read. Nothing trumps passion and if you are writing something you love you’re going to put more effort into making it the best story it can be.

      Like

  8. Thank you for hosting today.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

