USA Today Top Self-published Books 6-16-13 … by Darla Luke

Earlier this week Nancy Brophy asked why do we read? My earliest memory is Mom reading to me, and she loves to tell the story of where-at age three-I recite a book, page for page. She thought she had a budding genius (sorry, Mom, didn’t quite hit that mark, LOL!). Instead, I had memorized the book, complete with where to turn each page.

Since those early days, I’ve been an avid reader, voraciously devouring each book I get my hands on. Days will go by, barely remembered by me, but ask me about what the characters of the book I’m reading, and I can give you a blow-by-blow.

Like some of the theater goers said after seeing the movie ‘Avatar’, there are a few worlds authors have built that I want to live in…if only for a little while. Any world that involves shapeshifters (Christine Feehan’s Leopard series), or other races, like Avian or Leotine (as in Michelle Sagara’s Chronicles of Elantra series), and I’ll read until the world ends.

What books take you away to the point where you don’t want to leave…ever?

Here are the self-published books that made the USA Today Top 150 Best-Selling Books list through the week ending Sunday 6-16-13*:

Forever Too Far by Abbi Glines (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #4 (last week, not on the list) $3.99

Beauty From Pain by Georgia Cates (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #75 (last week #59) $3.99

Epilogue by C.J. Roberts (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #107 (last week, not on the list) $3.50

The Billionaire’s Obsession by J.S. Scott (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #114 (last week #115) $4.99

Red Stone Security, Security Series Box Set by Katie Rues (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #135 (last week, not on the list) $0.99

Don’t Say a Word by Barbara Freethy (Self-published via Amazon Digital Services). This week #147 (last week #88) $0.99

*I’m human and make mistakes (a shock to my friends, I’m sure!). If there’s a book on this week’s list that I missed, please let me know. If I misspelled/mistyped an author’s name or book title, I’m extremely sorry.

Darla Luke

You can find me on Twitter @writer_at_work, “Like” my Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/darlaluke, or visit my website: http://www.darlaluke.com

About Darla Luke

Darla Luke spent her childhood making up stories in her head, when she wasn't devouring every book she could get her hands on. If someone would have told her she'd be a writer when she grew up, she would have laughed herself silly. Now, writing is her passion, and she loves telling stories (especially ghost stories) and believes they all should have a happy ending.

Posted on June 21, 2013, in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Thanks for your comment!

