Footsteps In Cyber Sand …by Susan Lute

There’s always talk around the water cooler about book marketing…or author marketing. It’s a never Steam punk girl with Typewriter.ending conversation because it’s almost impossible to measure what works and what’s just busy work. Marketing has a new label these days. It’s called social media. For a writer like me, who is in some ways a cave dweller (and becoming more so by the minute), and who has a full-time day job, social media is a logistics nightmare.

First off, there’s so many to choose from: Goodreads, Twitter, Facebook, Amazon forums, Smashwords, and my personal favorite, Pinterest, just to name a few. I can spend hours on any of one of these, but then, when would I write, or read, or work in my garden, or put this really special photo in a contest, or visit favorite blogs, or write?

You can see the time management conundrum, and I don’t think I’m alone in needing a drink just thinking about it. Well the good news is, we don’t have to do it all (even if you’re a reader and not a writer who hopes to someday quit her day job). Every discussion I’ve had lately with other writers always circles around to one answer. No matter how much social media you participate in, that’s not what sells books. The only thing that sells books is to write the next one, and the next one, and the next one. We want social media to be the answer, but it’s not.

So what’s a work from home, cave-girl like me to do about the gargantuan cloud social media has become? First listen to your friends, and believe what they say. Only participate in the medias you enjoy, the ones that make sense to you, the ones you enjoy. Each person’s water cooler is going to be different. I killed my Twitter account because I’m not clever enough in 140 characters to make it fun. Quite frankly, sometimes I would forget to tweet for a week or more at a time. And then one day go, oh yeah, I should tweet. That is not the way to build a village. Twitter is a fast and busy medium. If you can’t keep up, like me, you should find another place to build your village.

If you’re a reader and love talking books, Goodreads is the place for you. But not necessarily if you’re an author, too. Except if you like to do book reviews. Goodreads is a good place for that.

Facebook. You either love it or hate it, but no matter how you feel about it, Facebook is a great place to gather your village around you, whether that’s your family and friends, or fans of your novels, it doesn’t matter. Facebook is here to stay. It’s growing on me, but I’d like to hook up with more readers there.

My absolute favorite is Pinterest. It appeals to the artist lurking in my heart. I was doing some research on the four horseman of the apocalypse the other day, and guess where I found the most pictures and info. That’s right. On Pinterest. It was incredible, and delightful at the same time.

This is my new trident approach to social media. Goodreads, Facebook, and Pinterest. It works for me. Your media approach will be what works best for you, but don’t try to do it all.

After the last Rose City Romance Writer’s meeting, I had a lot to think about. One thing I’ve been mulling over is…maybe what’s really important about social media is not what one may gain from it, but rather, having a presence there, leaving footprints in cyber sand… It’s stayed with me, just a curious thought.

Have a great week!

About Susan

Author, wife, mother, sister, daughter, friend, dreamer.

Posted on July 16, 2013, in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I agree, Su, that writing good books and keeping them coming is the best thing you can do. I guess I’ll have to learn more about author pages on Facebook. Twitter doesn’t interest me. I haven’t explored any of the others. Maybe someday, if I ever come out of my cave.

    Barb

    Like

  2. It definitely was a good one 🙂

    Like

  3. Wish I’d been at the last meeting. Sound slike it was a good one.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

