Getting Through… by Nancy Brophy

I was with a man a while back who said his entire life was on his smart phone, essential implying his phone held his schedule and to accomplish everything he needed to do, he did what his phone told him to do next.

I know this is another sign I’m old, but technology has let me down too many times to have gained my complete trust.

I am a list maker.

While I’m willing to use the computer to create the list, in actuality, I need the printed paper to function. Otherwise I shop with the intention of buying a loaf of bread and a jug of milk and come home with $250.00 worth of groceries and no milk. Not to mention a husband who stares at the table loaded with grocery bags and asks, “were you hungry?”

Maybe. Or perhaps I just needed to fill in the gaps in my life and thought a bag of chips or a candy bar would help.

A friend of mine died this past week. She had cancer. Her family owns an equestrian center and this weekend was their biggest show of the year. With riders coming from great distances to attend, the show couldn’t be cancelled. All the family could do was grit their teeth, don a stoic mask and get through it. Keeping busy probably helped.

Because I was asked, I cancelled my plans and resumed a temporary “job role” to help out. Skills I hadn’t used in a while, kicked into auto-drive as I created lists that needed to be accomplished. Each list spawned off-spring until my whole life was one big sticky note.

The event went smoothly. At least I think it did. The only portion I focused on was my small wedge of the pie and on the surface that went smoothly. But old memories were dredged up – both good and bad. And who I wanted to tell was my friend. She would have laughed and added stories of her own.

But another interesting thing happened. I lost one friend, but others, both friends and co-workers that I hadn’t seen for years re-appeared to help me pull this off. I am grateful to each of them. In the face of death I am reminded that life is a constant re-birth.

One day I will write a story about this and it will be more eloquent because I will have both distance and insight. But for today, I am going to lay in bed and rest my feet. Tomorrow is soon enough for wisdom.

Posted on July 22, 2013, in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. You are an awesome friend. Do not think we …or your friend… ever forgets that. Tomorrow is always soon enough for wisdom. Hugs!!!

    Like

  2. Many hugs, Nancy. And you were eloquent in both word and deed.

    Like

  3. I’m sorry about the loss of your friend. I never met her in person but I took a moment to look around her equestrian center and was in awe of her legacy she left her family and the equestrian community.

    Like

  4. Maggie Jaimeson

    Hugs to you, Nancy, for your loss of your friend and for pitching in at a difficult time.

    It sounds like your friend was an amazing woman, and you and her family represented her well by moving forward with the equestrian event. I do believe that working helps one to realize that life goes on. It is the first step in moving forward.

    I loved your line: “In the face of death I am reminded that life is a constant re-birth.” It says it all.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

