See Jane Publish, A New Chapter …by Susan Lute

It’s interesting how the Universe works. Two years ago three Janes founded See Jane Publish, because we wantedSteam punk girl with Typewriter. to share our journeys to publication and whatever that looked like. Where we are today is certainly not where we were when Kim, Nancy and I raised our glasses in anticipation. We are like Fourth Of July fireworks, each one a burst of light heading off in different directions.

For me, I am heading back to my writing roots. I had a computer glitch this weekend, and lost access to my desktop, where I work on all my current projects: the ugly draft of Dragon’s Keeper; my next release, Falling For A Hero, The Anthology; the template for the print version of Dragon’s Thief. We’re working on the fix as I type this. In the meantime, for the first time in years I sat on the swing in my backyard and hand wrote four and a half pages of Dragon’s Keeper. Where I had hit a wall before the crash of my technology, now the story is flowing. That is a message in and of itself, right? And a perfect example of when the going gets tough in our writing lives, it’s time to step back, take a second look, and find out if our story can be told in a different way, perhaps even, with different tools.

This is true for my writing journey as well. It’s time to step back and take a different route than the one I’d planned. By no means am I giving up the writing. It’s just the map has changed. Two new ventures on my plate are the author cooperative at Windtree Press, and a website for Crazy Hair Publishing, my own publishing arm. The site is still being built, but I’ll give a shout out when it’s done.

Jessie Smith has enthusiastically agreed to take over the helm of See Jane Publish. Watch for a new format, and new Janes as a new chapter of SJP begins. And Jessie has promised to reserve a spot or two for me to come back and bug you all.

So this is not good-bye, it is merely see you later. Come and visit me at susanlute.com, facebook, goodreads, Pinterest, and Windtree Press.

Thanks for taking this journey with me. You are all awesome!

About Susan

Author, wife, mother, sister, daughter, friend, dreamer.

Posted on August 20, 2013, in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Su,

    best wishes in your new ventures. I know you’ll go in classy, creative directions!

    best,
    Cathryn

    Like

  2. You are going to kick butt!

    Like

  3. Thanks Maggie and Jamie. There is change in the wind. It’ll be interesting to see where it takes all of us πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. The hand-brain connection with writing something out in longhand is amazing. I do this with blurbs and the results are almost always something so far out of the usual thought pattern — and so much better. I can’t wait to to hear about your next steps in this journey, Su… and I’m thrilled to be a sister Windtree author alongside you πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Wow, two Janes in two days going in different directions. It is good to know each of you have a good handle on what you need at this point in your life and you are pursuing it.

    As with Nancy, I will miss your regular posts. I’ve grown to look forward to them, like visiting old friends. I’m sure the new infusion of energy will be exciting though. Also, I love the fact you are committed to Windtree Press. πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Oh, wow, Su, this is great news for you! Best of luck to one awesome writer!

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

