It’s Okay, We Can Hold Hands by Gina Fluharty

In honor of Halloween, we’re talking about fear. What’s your biggest fear about the publishing industry? What are you doing to overcome it?

October is one of my favorite months. As summer dies and fall ripens, the scent in the air awakens the animal in me. I’m a sucker for Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte. I love layering. I love boots. And I love to be scared—the right way. There’s nothing like the rush of adrenaline you get while watching a scary movie—Insidious and The Woman in Black are two favorites. That hormonal surge urges us to action—I jump, perhaps scream, definitely gasp—and brings our entire being into crystal clarity. When my skin frills and my heart pounds like a junkie on the time-locked pharmacy safe, I LOVE IT!

But there’s another kind of fear that can be absolutely paralyzing in the writing world—writing beautifully. I’ve been known to stare at a single word for minutes, sometimes days, wrestling with my narrative in order to elicit the perfect response in you, my dearest reader. And after I’ve got it and I’m slapping myself on the ass like an overzealous coach applauding my own cleverness, I read ahead two paragraphs and see that I’ve repeated myself. All that angst, the mental gymnastics not even a double-jointed cat would willingly go through, all for the sake of writing beautifully. But I can’t stop myself. I face my fear and let it wash over me like a teeming bucket of clown-faced spiders in the hopes that what I have to say will matter. To someone. Hopefully, to a lot of them.

So take my hand. We can clasp palms or link fingers–I go both ways. My hands are clean, my fingers are long and thin, so they fit many sizes. We’ll walk into the heart of fear together and come out the other side giggling from all the dirty quips I’ll tell you.

About Gina Fluharty

Author of paranormal romance. Like chocolate, I like the darker side of love. It's okay, you can hold my hand as I walk you into the heart of darkness in order to show you the light inside. It's time to embrace the beast within.

Posted on October 3, 2013, in General and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. Yep, that about sums up some of the false brilliance I feel when writing…
    Good post!!!! 🙂

    Like

  2. I can’t count the number of times I have wrestled words to the ground only to find out later I used almost the same phrase later in the story – grrr. I think half the fun of writing is finding ways to take what we see in our heads and transfer it onto a page to share. Although, I think I might end up dreaming about clown faced spiders…thanks ever so much, Gina 😉

    Like

  3. Great post, Gina! Looking forward to see more posts from you 🙂

    Like

  4. To write, we need our darlings and every phobia in our repertoire. To publish is a whole different kettle of fish. That’s why I’m into aquariums and making stew. The balance of herbs and spices only matters when we are serving it in a bowl.

    Like

  5. Too funny, Gina! Good thing I was munching down almonds and chocolate and not sipping Bailey’s 🙂 I am constantly rewriting sentences…word by word…looking for that perfect expression of what is happening in my head.

    Like

  6. My inner editor went off on me yesterday. I just pulled out a butcher knife and did away with her. Unfortunately she rose from the dead in the form of a zombie dripping blood and guts and complaining that my story has too many characters and I should cut a few of them. I got out the chainsaw and did some cutting all right. She won’t be back for awhile. At least until tomorrow. Sigh. I think I need a pumpkin spice latte. Keep writing pretty Gina!

    Like

  7. I”ll do a full hand clasp with you as long as you don’t squeeze too hard. 🙂

    I do get a rush when a sentence or paragraph seems beautiful and captures the mood of the scene. But when I read it the next day I start asking questions. Is it TOO beautiful, in other words over-written? Is the beautiful writing getting in the way of the reader’s understanding? Most of the time I stick my head down and say “ignore the critic.” If it still bothers me two chapters later I go back and delete, rewrite, or simply pound on the desk in frustration and wait for my beta readers to bring it up.

    Like

    • I’ll be gentle. Promise. It’s hard to kill your darlings. Someone once said that if you love it so much you keep thinking about it, it needs to die. I disagree. What’s the point of writing something you don’t love? Wouldn’t it all be compost in that case?

      Like

  8. I enjoyed reading your post and know that angst of the creative process even if I don’t write. Let’s do something with those spiders… I have just the idea for a photo.

    Like

  9. Woo-Hoo! Our first appreciate blog post. Thanks Gina~

    Like

  10. > I read ahead two paragraphs and see that I’ve repeated myself

    Argh, I hate when that happens! Well, pumpkin spice in New Deal’s Hot Monkey vodka can get us through that paralyzing perfectionism 🙂

    Like

  11. “Teeming bucket of clown-faced spiders”? Damn, girl. Spiders aren’t bad enough? You had to throw clowns into the mix? Ack!

    Like

  12. Enjoyed your post, Gina. Writing well is a rush, but when I look at what I’ve written later the editor comes out. Eek!

    Like

  1. Pingback: The Best Kind of Butterflies | The HeSo Project

Thanks for your comment!

