CMK 2014 Goal: Finish a 65k Story by the End of November

Character inspiration image for my Steampunk WIP.

Character inspiration image for my Steampunk WIP.

Ahhhh, yes – it’s that time again for New Year’s resolutions and us Janes are documenting our goals and issuing challenges. There will be consequences for not hitting our marks this year. So, be sure to read all of our writing goals and hold us accountable, like we’ll be holding each other accountable. Feel free to join the fun by answering the questions we’ll be answering this month:

  • What are your 2014 writing goals?
  • How will you celebrate, if you reach your goal?
  • What will you do if you don’t reach your goal? (make it interesting, but keep it fun…)

CMK 2014 Goal: Finish a 65k Story by the End of November

My big writing goal for 2014 is to complete a 65k word count story by the end of November 2014. This book will be book #2 in my steampunk series. Why is this a big goal for me? Well, I have yet to finish a novel in one year. (Yes, Therese Patrick and I finished our Author Marketing 101 book in less than two months…but it was a team effort and most of the first draft already existed in one form or another and Therese is AMAZING….<sigh> I digress.) I’m embarrassed to admit how long it took me to finish my first manuscript and it took me two years <and counting> to write my second book….so, at least I’m making progress in decreasing my writing time without compromising quality.

Let me see, how shall I reward myself for hitting my goal? I think I will treat myself to at least two spa treatments at The Allison Inn and Spa in Newburg, Oregon. (I stayed there for four days and three nights to celebrate a major birthday. It was absolutely lovely!)

If I miss my goal: I will wear electric blue eye shadow and Katie Perry fake eyelashes to 2014 RCRW Christmas party. I will stand up during the party and confess my sin. Jessie will take pictures to document my penance. I’m sure I’ll have to drink heavily to survive the onslaught. LOL!

About C Morgan Kennedy

Author of futuristic, urban fantasy, contemporary romance, and steampunk. Mecha geek fueled by chocolate and herbal tea. Author marketing maven. Co-founder of www.authormarketing101.com.

Posted on January 6, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Just add the clockwork eyepiece and bowler hat to the Katy Perry eyelashes/eye shadow and the punishment could actually be an advertisement for hitting the goal! You go, girl!

    Like

  2. I have HUGE plans to finish five books. I want to get two series done so I can work on the new “shiny”. I know you’ll get ‘er done!

    Like

  3. You should get commission from the Allison Inn & Spa. I want to go too! I don’t think I put a reward in my post for later this month, only punishment. Maybe I should add a trip to Oregon wine country as my reward. 🙂

    Like

    • I know, right, Asa!! I am always talking up the Allison Inn & Spa. I even used to carry around some of their fliers and would hand them out to folks when I traveled. I did contact them via Twitter to see if I could earn at least one service….yes, I did go there!

      Like

  4. Resolutions are awful things, but I think we’ve found a way to make them fun. Good luck with your 65K. You have a great team behind you!

    Like

  5. The Allison Inn looks awesome! I think in return for the traffic you’re driving their way, they should comp you a long weekend of perfect writing time 🙂

    Like

  6. I’m dying to see your novels published! You can do this, and I will be first in line to buy that book. As for the punishment, it almost sounds like fun. Are you sure it’s punishment?

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

