He-Man, Man-At-Arms or Skeletor by Gina Fluharty

Yeah. I just dated myself. We’re supposed to be talking about what kind of hero/heroine we love: Alpha, Beta or Gamma and that’s what popped into my head. It’s not entirely accurate but it made me laugh.

Alphas are confident and at the top of their game. Betas are equally confident but lack that little bit that would pop them up on top of the heap. Gammas go their own way. They’re the honey badger of the group.

Now, while I would love to love the Gamma—gamma don’t give a shit—that’s the problem. They see you coming and turn the corner. While they are fascinating characters, they don’t stay in the lens long enough to carry the weight of the story.

Which makes me an Alpha girl because I love a challenge. Whether it’s M/M, M/F, F/F, or F/M/F, I love Alpha heroine/hero combos. There’s such a wealth of, well, everything when you pit two truly confident and dominating personalities in a relationship together.

However, my favorite is the Alpha female Beta male combo. Why? Because it takes a truly strong male to realize the strength of an Alpha female and cherish her in spite of the personality schism. I think that’s the true hallmark of manliness: to know the truth of yourself, your partner and embrace the differences. That’s the totality of mental sexy for me. There’s total truth in that HEA.

About Gina Fluharty

Author of paranormal romance. Like chocolate, I like the darker side of love. It's okay, you can hold my hand as I walk you into the heart of darkness in order to show you the light inside. It's time to embrace the beast within.

Posted on June 5, 2014, in General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I’m reading a great multi-lover story by Cathryn Cade where she handles the interplay of dominance and submission really nicely. I haven’t read much about love languages (I know, I know, bad romance writer!) but I imagine it’s something like that: how does a dominant give and receive love, and how does the other partner reflect that? Endlessly fun to read!

    Like

  2. Your post reminds me of Millionaire Matchmaker Patty Stanger’s assessment of Gamma males — “Renaissance Men.” 🙂

    Like

  3. I love the alpha/alpha combo because it usually makes sparks fly. By the end of the book though, they both have to be knocked of their game and learn a little humility to make the relationship work.

    Like

  4. I think the alpha/alpha combos that succeed in real life are two folks that admit to themselves that even alphas need to be inspired and challenged to remain alphas, and other alphas are the only ones who can do it. Alpha/Beta combos, or worse, means the alpha prefers being dominant to being inspired. To me, it makes them bullies, not true Alphas.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

