Learning to Let Go

We’re wrapping up the first year of the See Jane Publish reboot, and as you may have noticed, some of us have decided to bid aloha to this particular venue.

This isn’t to say that we haven’t enjoyed the trip, and the company of you, our readers, and our fellow Janes, but in keeping with our Back to School theme, I think some of us have learned that our publishing journey has taken us down an unexpected fork in the path. This will be my last regular post as a Jane, although I may visit in future (if I’m invited!). In the meantime, you can find me at my website, ejrussell.com

A few other things I’ve learned this year:

  •  Belonging to a community of writers is important – even critical — but at the end of the day, no one can truly motivate me but myself.
  •  I can definitely meet the goals I set, but I can’t be afraid to revise those goals if reality requires it.
  •  I don’t need to feel guilty about the techniques I use to get my work done, even if they’re not the same as other writers I admire.
  •  Dammit, alpha heroes still give me a rash.

schoolhouseI’m a self-avowed class slut, and I don’t expect this year to be any different. I’ve already got my eye on at least two online classes this year.

Last November, I shared my method of getting through the first draft of a book. (Confessions of a Reformed Pantser) Whenever I get ready to start a new project, my go-to preparation includes, without fail, Suzanne Johnson’s Patchwork Plot method. Suzanne is offering this online class again in October through the Southern Magic chapter of RWA, and I encourage anyone who’s ever had trouble figuring out what the heck happens next to check it out. Suzanne is a generous and gracious instructor – which is why I’m also looking forward to a new class she’ll be presenting on revision in February through the Fantasy, Futuristic, & Paranormal chapter.

Of course, there’s the standard caveat (see bullet point three above). It may not work for you, but it works for me. Every time. I hope to see you in class!

Posted on September 22, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. It’s been great getting to know you over the past year. Hope to see you on January 1st, 2015!

    Like

  2. > even if they’re not the same as other writers

    So true. And that’s the cool part of learning: you can keep poking around until you find what’s right for YOU.

    Write on!

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

