Reading forever!

reading4The kids are back in school, and I just got to see this year’s reading list. Now, you might as well get out my rocking chair and my Werther’s cuz I’m gonna say it… Kids these days!

They have no idea how lucky they are. The Maze Runner and Divergent! All the best of Tolkien! Two awesome Jon Krakauer non fiction books! Even graphic novels! And nowhere on the list: The Red Badge of Courage which defeated me soundly during my school years on two separate occasions.

raeding2I think I am not exaggerating too much to say that reading was the single most useful skill I learned in school. And not just because I ended up being a writer. With reading, I could learn everything else I needed to know. Being able to consume massive amounts of text and retain the knowledge got me through college, and to this day, if there’s something I need to know, because of reading, I’m confident I can go figure it out. All I need are some books. Maybe all the books…

I’m sure I’m preaching to the choir here at See Jane Publish, when I say reading rocks, but I’m so glad that schools seem to be realizing that mastering the ability to read — no, more than that, finding the LOVE of reading — is more important than what is actually read.

reading1At least to start with. Fine, fine, you can assign War and Peace later, if you think it’s really important, but do that after the kids are addicted to reading, when the words come quickly and smoothly and the brain is primed to convert those words to knowledge.

I remember struggling when I was a kid to sound out the names in The Fellowship of the Ring. But the story was so awesome I was willing to do the work. And what a great lesson to learn: Stick with it and you’ll go somewhere fantabulous. Books will take you there.

Do you remember the first book you read or that someone read to you? What books do you recommend for reluctant readers? Share in comments.

About Jessa Slade

Jessa Slade is the author of the Marked Souls urban fantasy romance series (NAL Signet Eclipse), the Steel Born paranormal romance series (Harlequin Nocturne Cravings), and award-winning self-published science fiction romance with Hotter on the Edge. You can find her online at all the usual haunts.

Posted on September 25, 2014, in Auth: Jessa Slade and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. “out of the night that covers me, black as a pit from pole to pole, I thank whatever Gods may be for my unconquerable soul.”
    We’re not doing poetry? Sorry about that. But I truly believe that if you teach a child to read they can learn to do anything.

    Like

  2. I’ll see your Red Badge of Courage and raise you one Silas Marner. Ha!

    Like

  3. I couldn’t agree more with this post. The LOVE of reading (and learning in general) is the most important thing kids could get in school. Teaching my youngest to read right now… he loves books already, so even though it’s slow going, his determination is there. I remember reading Watership Down and finding it REALLY HARD (rabbit language? really?!) but REALLY FASCINATING. That and a zillion sci-fi books my dad had sitting around. Niven, Heinlein.

    Like

  4. First book: Cat in the Hat. The magic moment of knowing I could read WITHOUT HELP thankyouverymuch 🙂 I get a kick out of watching my nieces devour their Daisy Meadows fairy series. Who knew there were goldfish fairies and fitness fairies and weather fairies? Not when I was a kid. I would have loved those too.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

