A life of dogs

This month, we’re celebrating Dog-tober. Us Janes are active, fun-loving, and have our noses in everything, so of course we’re dog people!

When I met my XY (it’ll be 20 years ago next year) he came pre-packaged with a dog. I admit, us two bitches got off to a slightly rocky start: she ate a pound — a whole pound! — of Fannie May fudge my mom had sent me and she ate six — SIX! — of a dozen donuts (she wasn’t a total glutton, but she DID eat the ones with chocolate, grr) I had hidden away, and she wasn’t even guilty about it.

Maybe it was our shared love of sweets, but it didn’t take long before it was us two against the boy. Girl power!

She was the first dog I was substantially responsible for, and when she died, she left a dog-sized hole in my heart. I knew we’d get another dog eventually. I mean, what do you even DO with yourself when you don’t have a dog? 😦 So when the time came, I found Monster Girl, who you met in our first Dog-tober post:

T smileYes, this is my little dingbat (half dingo, half vampire bat). She’s a dork, as you might have intuited from her photo, so we get along fantabulously. She, like her predecessor, is a well of energy, silliness, and good times.

And also life lessons.

What I’ve learned from my life of dogs

  1. Get up & go out
    My dogs have always loved to sleep. They want their eight hours of beauty sleep, plus after-breakfast nap, midday nap, post-dinner nap, and evening nap. But they know the best naps come after hard work. Somebody has to keep those squirrels on the move! So whenever you find yourself cooped up too long at the computer, remember to get up and go, for a little while at least. THEN snuggles, lots of snuggles.
  2. Let it go
    Mistakes and bad things happen. (Why can’t you ever vomit on the hardwoods, not the carpet?!) But brooding doesn’t make it better. So as much as you might resent baths, leashes, and mean cats that don’t want to be friends, take a moment to let your ears droop… then find a way to sneak out the back fence and run around like a loon.
  3. Eat ALL the snacks (metaphorically)
    Hey, life is short in dog and people years. If you run around hard enough, you can eat all the snacks (carrot chips, peanut butter toast, blueberries, and anything that comes in a bag labeled for cats — mmm-mmm good) guilt free! But the treats can also be a romp on the beach, a cuddle on the couch, rolling in fresh-cut grass (and dead worms!), or whatever. Look for the simple pleasures that make you happy.

And don’t forget your microchip, so you can always find your way home!

Jessa-Slade_Tnoble

 

About Jessa Slade

Jessa Slade is the author of the Marked Souls urban fantasy romance series (NAL Signet Eclipse), the Steel Born paranormal romance series (Harlequin Nocturne Cravings), and award-winning self-published science fiction romance with Hotter on the Edge. You can find her online at all the usual haunts.

Posted on October 6, 2014, in Auth: Jessa Slade and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I love the picture of her posing in the forest. She looks like fun.

    Like

  2. A whole pound of Chocolate – Did the doggie survive without a trip to the vet?
    PS – I have met (cuddled with) Jessa’s dog and Monster Girl is Fabulous!

    Like

  3. Great post and great comments! Being around dogs and dog lovers just makes life better. 🙂

    Like

  4. What an awesome post, Jessa! Great life lessons, indeed, especially #2 – Letting go can be sooooo hard!

    Like

  5. I have a new saying thanks to this post. Whenever I feel like baring my teeth or curling up under the covers to avoid the world, I will now ask myself WWSD (What Would Sammy Do?) Chances are, he’d let it all go and go have fun instead. Also, chances are, he’ll be there pulling on the covers to get me to take him for a walk.

    Thanks for a fun post! I so want to meet your dingbat. 🙂

    Like

  6. Reblogged this on JAMIE BRAZIL and commented:

    This month on See Jane Publish we are relaunching and celebrating Dog-tober. Check out Jessa Slade’s post, a dog quiz, and lots of fun posts all month long

    Like

  7. Mmm, peanut butter toast. You are making me hungry. Thanks for the PSA on the microchip. All pets and working animals should have one.

    Like

    • I harp on the microchip thing whenever I find a stray pup. Friday before this post went up we almost inherited a lovely GSD girl: no collar, no chip. Luckily we walked her around the place we found her and two boys were looking for her. I gave them a lecture 🙂

      Like

  8. Love this post, Jessa! Dogs are such characters, and it sounds like you have loads of fun with our four-legged furry friend. 🙂 ~ Viola

    Like

    • Adventures with a dog are strangely better. I think it’s watching them really get into the fun. They remind me to enjoy the moment too. A dog’s default setting is “wheeeeee!” 🙂

      Like

Thanks for your comment!

