My Favorite Page of Any Book

acknowledgement

The first page I turn to when I pick up a book is the acknowledgements. I read it again when I’ve finished the story. My favorite acknowledgements are the ones in debut novels, because those are the books that most writers have took the longest time to write. I love learning about the family members, friends, and fellow writers who supported them through their journey from first draft to published book.

Before I was ever offered a book contract, I’d spend hours working on my own acknowledgement page. And the list of people who should be mentioned is very long. It includes anyone who ever said “I’d like to read that” when I told them what my book was about, family members no longer living, all my family members still alive, friends, acquaintances, my husband, my dog, and that one couple I chatted with at the airport who were thrilled to meet an author.

It would also include a slew of other writers. The thing that has surprised me the most in this business is the support and mentorship that other writers offer. Romance writers in particular practice the idea of reaching behind them to lift others up while they themselves climb the career ladder. I still thank the lucky start that lead me to Romance Writers of America and my local chapter way back in 2007. My debut novel comes out next year, so it’s been a long and eventful journey, but I wouldn’t change it.

I am exactly where I need to be at exactly the right time and that couldn’t have happened if it wasn’t for all the wonderful writers who propped me up when I needed encouragement, who offered advice when I was lost, and who were always available to celebrate every small victory, or help drown my sorrows when challenges turned into obstacles and then dead ends.

gratefulSo this November, the thing I am the most grateful for is everyone who supported me through this journey, but especially my fellow writers. Seriously, I could not have done this without you and when I finally get to craft my acknowledgement page, I’m going to have to ask for extra space or use a very small font.

Who do you always include/would you always include on your acknowledgement page?

About Asa Maria Bradley

2016 Double RITA finalist, romance author, news junkie, physics instructor, and diver. Loves Norse mythology, ranch dressing, and cop shows. Lives with husband and rescue dog of indeterminate breed in Pacific Northwest. Represented by Sarah E. Younger of the Nancy Yost Literary Agency. Writers about sexy modern-day Vikings. More at www.asamariabradley.com and @AsaMariaBradley.

Posted on November 17, 2014, in Auth: Asa Maria Bradley and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Asa, I love your line…”I am exactly where I need to be at exactly the right time”… I SO believe this. Each moment, every stop along the way, has it’s own specialness – not a word, I know, lol. Thanks for this post. Well said. PS. I read every acknowledgment page too 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Asa – Great blog post. I thought I was the only one who loved to read the acknowledgements. There are actually a few books with my name on them and it means sooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much to me.

    Like

  3. Asa, I gotta tell you, before selling, I never understood why an author would list an editor on the acknowledgement page. Believe me, I now know why! So, yeah, I’d definitely thank my editor….

    Like

  4. Good point, Jenny! The readers are so important. Hopefully I’ll get to thank many of them one day. 🙂

    Like

  5. What a great post–and great page to read first. I always read every single line of the acknowledgments, too. And my own are long–for the reason you mention. I just finished the acknowledgments for my third novel, and they haven’t gotten any shorter. I am grateful for every person who picks up one of my books. And if they take the time to care about what got me here, they will see themselves thanked one day.

    Thanks for the post, Asa.

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

