It’s a Party: Holiday Wreath Tradition

wreath2This past weekend I gathered friends and family together for what has become an annual tradition: A Christmas Wreath Decorating Party.

It began over ten years ago, when I was all thumbs at wreath wrapping and bought craft supplies at the Big Box Store places. The grand vision at that time was something along the lines of wouldn’t these make great hostess gifts. Since then, there’s been quite the shift.

1. I’ve become the mountaineer hostess, gathering all the “forest” supplies.

2. My wreath crafting skills have gone from sucko to pretty good.

3. Summer garage sales are my go-to source for everything from wreath frames to ribbon and flocking and shiny decorations.

Just add a dozen or so guests, music, wine, snacks… and hilarious Christmas themed hats for all (also a garage sale score, and entire box of 30 brand new Christmas hats for $3 last August).

While I haven’t exactly felt like celebrating anything this past month, and very nearly cancelled the party because of some heartbreaking circumstances, I’m feeling immensely grateful this day-after the party. I’m blessed with good friends and family, and it makes me happy to be able to share the abundance.

About Jamie Brazil

Humor writer, romance novelist, Bloodhound enthusiast.

Posted on December 8, 2014, in Auth: Jamie Brazil, General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I love the idea of Christmas hats. I’ve been to some Christmas sweater parties, but now I think I definitely need a hat to go with my sweater. Glad you had a good time.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love my Hat! It was a great party and I hope I score an invite next year 🙂

    Like

  3. Silly hats FTW. It’s always nice to find some holiday cheer with friends and wine and creativity.

    Like

  4. What a fabulously fun idea! So glad you went ahead and did it, Jamie. Hugs!

    Like

  5. Dear Jamie- Glad you persevered and went ahead and did this, I am sure it cheered everyone else too. Sometimes the holidays seem to emphasize the hardships we all face but when you push through and focus on the fun things and share your efforts with others, it inevitably pays off! Looked like fun!

    Like

Thanks for your comment!

